skip navigation


Register for Latest Research

Stay Informed
Register with NCJRS to receive NCJRS's biweekly e-newsletter JUSTINFO and additional periodic emails from NCJRS and the NCJRS federal sponsors that highlight the latest research published or sponsored by the Office of Justice Programs.

NCJRS Abstract

The document referenced below is part of the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. To conduct further searches of the collection, visit the Virtual Library. See the Obtain Documents page for direction on how to access resources online, via mail, through interlibrary loans, or in a local library.


NCJ Number: 120823 Add to Shopping cart Find in a Library
Title: Standards for Law Enforcement Agencies -- The Standards Manual of the Law Enforcement Agency Accreditation Program
Corporate Author: Cmssn on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc.
United States of America
Date Published: 1989
Page Count: 232
Sponsoring Agency: Cmssn on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc.
Fairfax, VA 22030
National Institute of Justice/
Rockville, MD 20849
US Dept of Justice
Washington, DC 20531
Grant Number: 79-TA-AX-0034; 80-CJ-AX-0027; 81-DF-AX-0001; 81-CJ-AX-0016; 82-CJ-AX-0009;83-CJ-AX-0010; 85-SN-CX-00
Sale Source: National Institute of Justice/
NCJRS paper reproduction
Box 6000, Dept F
Rockville, MD 20849
United States of America
Document: PDF
Type: Guideline
Format: Document
Language: English
Country: United States of America
Annotation: These standards were developed through a joint effort of the Commission on Accreditation of Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc., and the four major law enforcement executive membership associations: International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLES), National Sheriffs' Association (NSA), and Police Executive Research Forum (PERF).
Abstract: They are designed to increase law enforcement agency capabilities to prevent and control crime, effectiveness and efficiency in the delivery of law enforcement services, cooperation and coordination with other agencies of the criminal justice system, and citizen and employee confidence in the agency. The chapters are divided into nine major categories: law enforcement role, responsibilities, and relationships; organization, management, and administration; personnel structure; personnel processes; law enforcement operations; operations support; traffic operations; and auxiliary and technical services. These categories contain 900 standards organized into 48 chapters; each standard consists of a standard statement, commentary, and level of compliance required for accreditation. Although most standards are mandatory, others are designated nonmandatory or not applicable. The five stages of the accreditation process are application, agency questionnaire, self-assessment, on-site assessment, and commission review.
Main Term(s): Police accreditation
Index Term(s): Accreditation standards; Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies; International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP); National Sheriffs Association
To cite this abstract, use the following link:

*A link to the full-text document is provided whenever possible. For documents not available online, a link to the publisher's website is provided. Tell us how you use the NCJRS Library and Abstracts Database - send us your feedback.