skip navigation


What is the Congressional Badge of Bravery (CBOB)?
The Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery (CBOB) Act (the Act) honors federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement officers for exceptional acts of bravery while in the line of duty. The Act establishes an award to honor exceptional acts of bravery in the line of duty by federal, state, and local law enforcement officers. The medals are awarded annually by the U.S. Attorney General and are presented by the recipients' Congressional representatives.

Each CBOB nomination submission period is tied to a specific calendar year. The opening date for nominations is on or around December 15 of each year. When December 15 occurs on a weekend, the opening date for nominations may occur one or two days earlier.

Visit the CBOB website for additional information.

Last Updated: February 14, 2019

Ask Another Question

Email Your Question