skip navigation


Register for Latest Research

Stay Informed
Register with NCJRS to receive NCJRS's biweekly e-newsletter JUSTINFO and additional periodic emails from NCJRS and the NCJRS federal sponsors that highlight the latest research published or sponsored by the Office of Justice Programs.

NCJRS Abstract

The document referenced below is part of the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. To conduct further searches of the collection, visit the Virtual Library. See the Obtain Documents page for direction on how to access resources online, via mail, through interlibrary loans, or in a local library.


NCJ Number: 69902 Find in a Library
Title: Survey of Arkansas' Criminal Sentencing Law and Recent Enactments of Other States
Corporate Author: Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research
United States of America
Date Published: 1978
Page Count: 6
Sponsoring Agency: Arkansas Legislative Council
Little Rock, AR 72201
National Institute of Justice/
Rockville, MD 20849
Publication Number: Staff Report 78-21
Sale Source: National Institute of Justice/
NCJRS paper reproduction
Box 6000, Dept F
Rockville, MD 20849
United States of America
Document: PDF
Language: English
Country: United States of America
Annotation: Basic provisions of recently enacted statutory laws of Arkansas, Arizona, California, Indiana, and South Dakota pertaining to sentencing, imprisonment, and parole of convicted felons are specified and discussed.
Abstract: The Arkansas Criminal Code (Act 280 of 1975, as amended), classifies felonies as capital felony murder class A, class B, class C, class D, and unclassified. The penalty for capital felony murder is death or life imprisonment without parole. In addition, specific terms are stipulated for each class of offense, i.e., the term for a class A felony is not less than 5 years nor more than 50 years or life imprisonment. Within these guidelines, terms may be increased for habitual offenders. The Arizona Revised Criminal Code is effective as of October 1978. Under the new laws there are six classifications of felonies. As is the case with the Arkansas legislation, terms of imprisonment are stipulated; the penalty for the class 1 felony is life imprisonment or death. Inmates are eligible for parole after serving one-half of the sentence after 1 year of imprisonment of 60 days before sentence expiration, which ever is less. The California Determinate Sentencing Act of 1976 gives the judge three statutory sentence choices for each crime. For example, robbery is punishable by 2, 3, or 4 years of imprisonment. Uniformity in sentencing is emphasized through provision of sentencing criteria for trial judges. Indiana adopted a determinate sentencing law, effective October 1977. Murder is a separate category with a sentence of 40 years with as much as 20 additional years for aggravating circumstances or a decrease of as much as 10 years for mitigating circumstances. Comparable legislation of South Dakota became effective October 1977. Six classifications of felonies with imprisonment terms were established. All of the recent enactments establish a definite term of imprisonment specified for each crime with a narrow margin of discretion for the sentencing authority. Elimination of sentencing disparity is the primary purpose of such legislation. An addendum is provided with the report.
Index Term(s): Arizona; Arkansas; California; Criminal codes; Determinate Sentencing; Indiana; Laws and Statutes; Sentencing disparity; Sentencing reform; South Dakota
To cite this abstract, use the following link:

*A link to the full-text document is provided whenever possible. For documents not available online, a link to the publisher's website is provided. Tell us how you use the NCJRS Library and Abstracts Database - send us your feedback.