This manual is the result of months of effort by several individuals and organizations whose contributions are gratefully acknowledged. Special thanks and appreciation are extended to Ann H. Crowe of the American Probation and Parole Association, who conducted the research and authored the publication. The OJJDP National Training and Technical Assistance Center and its staff, Karen B. Francis, Jeremy M. Anderson, and Dianne C. Wickes, are acknowledged for their leadership and coordination in developing this manual. In addition, the following individuals, whose titles reflect their positions at the time this manual was written and who represent the spectrum of juvenile corrections, are gratefully acknowledged for providing the initial vision for and continuing advice during the development of this manual.

Francisco Alarcon
California Youth Authority

Jim Brown
Community Research Associates

Earl Dunlap
Executive Director
National Juvenile Detention Association

George Hinchcliffe
Assistant Secretary
Florida Department of Juvenile Justice

Terry Kennedy
Staff Training Administrator
Ohio Department of Youth Services

Steve Kossman
Peoria County Probation and Court Services

David Roush
Center for Research and Professional Development
National Juvenile Detention Association

William Taylor
Professional Development Specialist
American Correctional Association

Pat Torbet
Project Director
National Center for Juvenile Justice

Loren Warboys (deceased)
Managing Attorney
Youth Law Center

Previous Contents Next

Jurisdictional Technical Assistance Package for Juvenile Corrections Report - December 2000