Coordinating Council Members

As designated by legislation, the Coordinating Council's primary function is to coordinate all Federal juvenile delinquency prevention programs, all Federal programs and activities that detain or care for unaccompanied juveniles, and all Federal programs relating to missing and exploited children. The Council comprises nine statutory members and nine practitioner members representing disciplines that focus on youth.

Statutory Members

The Honorable John Ashcroft, Chair
Attorney General
U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW.
Washington, DC 20530

John J. Wilson, Vice Chair
Acting Administrator
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
U.S. Department of Justice
810 Seventh Street NW.
Washington, DC 20531

The Honorable Tommy G. Thompson
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Hubert H. Humphrey Building
200 Independence Avenue SW.
Washington, DC 20201

The Honorable Elaine Chao
U.S. Department of Labor
Francis Perkins Building
200 Constitution Avenue NW.
Washington, DC 20210

The Honorable Roderick Paige
U.S. Department of Education
Portals Building
600 Independence Avenue SW.
Washington, DC 202026100

The Honorable Mel Martinez
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
451 Seventh Street SW.
Washington, DC 20410

The Honorable Edward H. Jurith
Acting Director
Office of National Drug Control Policy
Executive Office of the President
750 17th Street NW.
Washington, DC 20503

Kevin D. Rooney
Acting Commissioner
Immigration and Naturalization Service
U.S. Department of Justice
Chester A. Arthur Building
425 Eye Street NW.
Washington, DC 20536

Wendy Zenker
Acting Chief Executive Officer
Corporation for National Service
1201 New York Avenue NW.
Washington, DC 20525

Practitioner Members

Robert A. Babbage, Jr.
Senior Managing Partner
InterSouth, Inc.

Larry K. Brendtro, Ph.D.
Reclaiming Youth International

John A. Calhoun
President and Chief Executive Officer
National Crime Prevention Council

Larry EchoHawk
Brigham Young University

The Honorable Adele Grubbs
Juvenile Court of Cobb County, Georgia

Michael J. Mahoney
John Howard Association

The Honorable Gordon A. Martin, Jr.
Associate Justice
Massachusetts Trial Court

The Honorable Michael W. McPhail
County and Youth Courts of Forrest County, Mississippi

Charles Sims
Chief of Police
Police Department of Hattiesburg, Mississippi


Addressing Youth Victimization OJJDP Action Plan Update • October 2001