OJJDP News @ A GlanceOJP seal
OJJDP News @ A Glance
November | December 2009

printer friendly version button   Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention  ·  Jeff Slowikowski, Acting Administrator
News From the Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice
and Delinquency Prevention
Coordinating Council logo

In an October 26, 2009, interview with Federal News Radio, Robin Delany-Shabazz, the Director of OJJDP's Concentration of Federal Efforts Program, encouraged federal staff to use a new Web site that will help them plan, manage, and sustain comprehensive community initiatives (CCIs)—efforts to improve outcomes for youth and families through systems change.

Launched by the Coordinating Council, the Web site, cciToolsforFeds.org, provides guidelines on developing and supporting CCIs, answers to key questions, tools and resources developed and used by professional experienced with CCIs, and checklists to assist with key activities.

Ms. Delany-Shabazz said that although the site is "designed for Feds by Feds, it also is applicable to anyone who works in these communities or supports comprehensive community initiatives." She urged federal staff to take advantage of this Web resource and to provide the Council with feedback and best practices from the field. The Council recently released a brochure that describes the contents of the Web site and the valuable assistance it offers to federal staff.

Quarterly Meeting. The Council meets quarterly in Washington, DC. Sessions are open to the public. The next Council meeting is scheduled for January 25, 2010. Visit the Council's Web site to learn more about the Council, register to attend the upcoming meeting, and read minutes from past meetings.

The Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention is an independent body within the executive branch of the federal government. The Council's primary functions are to coordinate federal juvenile delinquency prevention programs, federal programs and activities that detain or care for unaccompanied juveniles, and federal programs relating to missing and exploited children.

The Council is made up of 18 members, including 9 ex officio members—the Attorney General; the Secretaries of the Departments of Justice, Education, Health and Human Services, Housing and Urban Development, and Labor; the Assistant Secretary of Immigration and Customs Enforcement in the Department of Homeland Security; the Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy; and the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation for National and Community Service. An additional nine members are juvenile justice practitioners appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Senate Majority Leader, and the President of the United States.