News From the Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

Coordinating Council logo At the December 3, 2010, meeting of the Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (Council), chaired by OJJDP Acting Administrator Jeff Slowikowski, the Council's Executive Committee reported on a presentation made earlier in the day by the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice (FACJJ). Dick Gardell, FACJJ chair, and Cecely Reardon, co-chair of the FACJJ Annual Report Subcommittee, described the core principles adopted by the committee and reviewed a synthesis of its recommendations to the President, Congress, and OJJDP over FACJJ's history. In addition, the Executive Committee reported on the progress of the Council's issue teams toward finalizing recommendations for enhancing federal policy and practice in four priority areas: education and at-risk youth, tribal youth and juvenile justice, juvenile reentry and transition to adulthood, and racial and/or ethnic disparities in the juvenile justice and related systems.

During 2010, the issue teams—composed of representatives of the Council's member agencies and OJJDP staff—examined policies, practices, regulations and legislation that foster as well as hinder achievement of federal goals in partnership with states, tribes, and units of local government. The analyses included literature reviews, outreach to stakeholders, tribal listening sessions, team discussions, and public comments obtained during the spring and summer.

On December 3, the teams presented to the Council's member agencies for their consideration and comment a consolidated final draft report with policy, practice, and legislative recommendations aimed at building a base for cross-agency problem solving. Recommendations that are approved by the Council will be incorporated into a separate 2010 annual report by the Council to Congress. Each team produced draft recommendations specific to their topic area, as well as a number of cross-cutting proposals that were more broadly relevant.

The Council meeting also included a presentation from representatives of the Chicago Area Project (CAP)—a network of more than 50 grassroots organizations and special projects aimed at promoting positive youth development and preventing juvenile delinquency through advocacy, community organizing, and direct services. Founded in 1934, CAP focuses on community building to address local problems such as delinquency, gang violence, substance abuse, and unemployment. CAP identifies community leaders and supports their grassroots efforts to mobilize residents to take responsibility for guiding young people. Working together, neighborhood leaders and residents prioritize neighborhood-specific issues and identify effective solutions and available resources to address them. The goal is to "develop the capacity of local residents to make a difference in their own community," said Howard Lathan, CAP's Executive Director for Community Development and Organization.

Meetings of the Council are open to the public. Visit the Council's Web site to learn more about the council and read minutes from past meetings. The next quarterly meeting will be held on Friday, April 29.

The Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention is an independent body within the executive branch of the federal government operated under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The Council's primary functions are to coordinate federal juvenile delinquency prevention programs, federal programs and activities that detain or care for unaccompanied juveniles, and federal programs relating to missing and exploited children.

The council is made up of 22 members—13 ex officio and affiliate members and nine practitioners. The ex officio members are: the Attorney General; the Administrator of the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention; the Secretaries of the U.S. Departments of Education, Health and Human Services (HHS), Housing and Urban Development, and Labor; the Assistant Secretary of Immigration and Customs Enforcement in the U.S. Department of Homeland Security; the Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy; and the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation for National and Community Service. Affiliate members are the Secretaries of the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Defense, and the Interior, and the Administrator of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of HHS. The nine juvenile justice practitioner members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Senate Majority Leader, and the President of the United States.