News From the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice

Logo for Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice

The organizing meeting for the newly constituted Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice (FACJJ) took place on October 11, 2011. The agenda included an introduction of members and the election of a chairperson and vice chairperson.

OJJDP restructured FACJJ to allow for greater flexibility and responsiveness. The reorganized FACJJ is made up of 14 primary members, each representing a group of states and U.S. territories for a period of 2 years (with the possibility of being reappointed for a second term) and 14 alternate members. Also planned are several subcommittees composed of FACJJ members and other experts.

The new FACJJ is deliberately structured as a relatively small working advisory committee. It presents the opportunity to engage in deeper communication and collaboration with the leadership and staff of OJJDP, to forge stronger relationships among states and territories with mutual interests, and to provide more timely responses to legislative, policy, and program matters.

A complete list of members is shown below. More information about the October 11 meeting will be available in the next issue of OJJDP News @ a Glance.

The committee's meetings are open to the public; anyone may register to attend and observe. Additional information is available on the committee's Web site.

FACJJ Members
Primary Members (Term: October 1, 2011–September 30, 2013)

Dalene Anne Dutton
Tony R. Jones
Robert Listenbee, Jr.
Robin L. Lubitz
ViEve Martin Kohrs
Jim Moeser
Raquel Montoya-Lewis
Claudio Martin Kotomor Norita
Christine Perra Rapillo
Haley Rae Reimbold
Reginald Robinson
John B. Roe IV
Symone D. Sanders
Dean R. Williams
Alternate Members (Term: October 1, 2011–September 30, 2013)
Aileen Jo Artero
Pat S. Berckman
Richard Broderick
Susan Colling
Joseph Diament
Martha Doyle
William H. Feyerherm
Kenya Shantel Lee
Timothy McBride
Liz Mueller
Maria Estela Quintanilla
Pili J. Robinson
George W. Timberlake
Linda Whittington

The Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice is a consultative body established by the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, as amended (Section 223) and supported by OJJDP. Composed of members of state advisory groups on juvenile justice, the committee advises the President and Congress on matters related to juvenile justice, evaluates the progress and accomplishments of juvenile justice activities and projects, and advises the OJJDP Administrator on the work of OJJDP.