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INTRODUCTION 

This Information Memorandum provides an overview of current Wisconsin 
laws relating to (1) operating a vehicle [i.e., a motor vehicle, 
all-terrain vehicle (ATV), boat or snowmobile] while intoxicated and (2) 
possession or drinking of alcohol beverages (i.e., beer or intoxicating 
liquor) in a motor vehicle. This Memorandum also describes innovative 
laws in several other states relating to sanctions for operating a motor 
vehicle while intoxicated (OWl). 

This Memorandum includes relevant laws enacted through the 1989-90 
Legislative Session. In particular, it refers to pertinent changes made 
in 1989 Wisconsin Act 105, relating to licensing and operation of 
commercial motor vehicles (CMV)i in general, those changes take effect 
January 1, 1991. 

The Memorandum is divided into the following parts: 

PART I - BACKGROUND 
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PART I 

BACKGROUND 

The following quotation from a recent Wisconsin State Bar publication 
provides an overview of the history of drunk driving laws in Wisconsin: 

The Wisconsin Legislature first tackled the problem 
of impaired driving in 1911 ["No intoxicated person 
shall operate, ride or drive any automobiJe, 
motorcycle or other similar motor vehicle along or 
upon any public highway of this state." s. 1636-49, 
Stats. of 1911J. The relevant laws have since been 
repeatedly altered, each change representing a 
legislative design to grapple more effectively with 
a hazard that prior law had failed to check. This 
variegated legislative history in turn provides a 
reliable forecast of continued change in the 
definition of the impaired driving offenses, in the 
procedures for their enforcement and adjudication, 
and in the manner of dealing with convicted 
offenders. 

A significant overhaul of the impaired driving 
statutes occurred during the 1981-82 session of the 
Wisconsin Legislature [Ch. 20, Laws of 1981J. That 
revision constitutes the substantive core of 
present law, although a number of changes have been 
enacted in the interim. To that core must also be 
added the significant gloss of judicial 
interpretation generated in a plethora of appellate 
opinions on the subject [Hammer, Traffic Law and 
Practice in Wisconsin, ATS-CLE, State Bar of 
Wisconsin, pp. 4-6 and 4-7, (1987) (Revised 1989)]. 

B. MAJOR CHANGES IN CH. 20, LAWS OF 1981 

The major changes in Ch. 20, Laws of 1981, which substantially 
revised the laws relating to operation of a motor vehicle while 
intoxicated, included: 

1. Establishing 0.1% or more blood alcohol concentration (BAC) as a 
per se drunk driving violation (i.e., proof by the prosecutor that a 
driver's BAC was 0.1% or more is sufficient proof for a drunk driving 
conviction) • 
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2. Requiring drivers convicted of drunk driving or improperly 
refusing to take a chemical test under the implied consent law to submit 
to an assessment of their use of alcohol or drugs and to submit to alcohol 
or drug treatment, if necessary. 

3. Increasing and altering the structure of penalties and license 
sanctions for drunk driving violations. 

4. Creating a driver improvement surcharge of $150, for OWl-related 
services provided by state and county agencies, whenever the court imposes 
a fine or forfeiture for a drunk driving violation. The surcharge is 
currently $250. 

5. Revising the law relating to drinking, possession or keeping of 
alcohol beverages in a motor vehicle on a highway. 

C. OTHER MAJOR CHANGES SINCE CH. 20, LAWS OF 1981 

Since the enactment of Ch. 20, Laws of 1981, subsequent Acts which 
have made major changes in the drunk driving laws include: 

• 

1. 1985 Wisconsin Act 337 which, besides changing the legal drinking 
age to 21: (a) provided increased penalties for drivers with a BAC of 
0.2% or more (so-called "aggravated drunk driving"); (b) changed the • 
license sanction for first offense drunk driving from a suspension to the 
more severe revocation; (c) established increased waiting periods for 
obtaining occupational licenses; and (d) required 24 hours of community 
service with a public agency or nonprofit charitable organization for 
first-time offenders. 

2. (a) created an 
administrative sus ension rocedure applicable to drivers with a BAC. of 
0.1% or more; b deleted the "aggravated drunk driving" penalties and 
license sanctions created in 1985 Act 337; (c) made the license sanction 
for first offense drunk driving a suspension instead of a revocation; (d) 
increased the license sanctions and occupational license waiting periods 
for drunk drivers and for persons refusing to take a chemical test; (e) 
made the community service provision created in Act 337 optional instead 
of mandatory; and (f) permitted the court to order the drunk driver to pay 
restitution to the victim. 

3. 1989 Wisconsin Act 7, which revised various procedures in the 
administrative suspension law to conform to constitutional due process 
concerns. 

4. Various acts which have created prOV1Slons similar to the drunk 
driving laws and the implied consent law for boats (1985 Wisconsin Act 

• 
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331), ATV's (1987 Wisconsin Act 399) and snowmobiles (1987 Wisconsin Act 
399) . 

5. 1989 Wisconsin Act 105, which implements the requ)rements of the 
federal commercial driver's license law, including prohibitions relating 
to the operation of a CMV (e.g., a truck or a bus) while having a BAC of 
0.04% or more but less than 0.1%. The provisions in Act 105 referred to 
in this Memorandum take effect on January I, 1991 . 
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PART II 

OWl AND OWl-RELATED OFFENSES 

This Part of the Memorandum (a) describes the basic elements of and 
penalties for the various violations involving operating a motor vehicle 
while under the influence of an intoxicant, drugs, or both and (b) briefly 
describes violations involving operating an ATV, boat or snowmobile while 
under the influence of an intoxicant, drugs, or both. 

In this Part and throughout the remainder of this Memorandum: 

a. "OWl" refers to the basic offense of operating a motor vehicle 
while under the influence of an intoxicant, drugs, or both, or with a BAC 
of 0.1% or more, as described in Section A, below. 

b. "OWI-re lated" offense refers to: 

(1) Causing injury by OWl [so 346.63 (2), Stats.], 
as described in Section B, I, below. 

(2) Causing great bodily harm by OWl [so 940.25, 
Stats.], as described in Section B, 2, below . 

(3) Causing death by OWl [so 940.09, Stats.J, as 
described in Section B, 3, below. 

c. A person whose license is referred to as "revoked ll must, in order 
to drive in this state, reapply for a license (with the required fee), 
submit to the Department of Transportation (DOT) proof of financial 
responsibility (e.g., insurance) and pass all written and road motor 
vehicle operator's tests, as well as a vision screening. .The 
reapplication and testing may occur only after the driver1s revocation 
period has expired. A person whose license is referred to as IIsuspended" 
must, in order to drive in this state, have his or her license reinstated 
by the DOT, upon payment of a fee, once the suspension period has expired. 

A. OWl: THE BASIC OFFENSE [so 346.63 (1), Stats.] 

1. Definitions; Where Law Enforceable 

For purposes of the current OWl statute [and s. 346.63 (2), Stats., 
causing injury by OWl, discussed in Section B, below]: 

a. IIDrive" means the exercise of physical control over the speed and 
direction of a motor vehicle while it is in motion . 
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b. IIMotor vehicle ll refers to self-propelled devices in, upon or by 
which persons or property may be transported or drawn upon a highway, but 
excludes snowmobiles, railroad trains and conveyances that are not 
self-propelled, such as bicycles and animal-drawn vehicles [so 340.01 (35) 
and (74), Stats.; Hammer, supra, pp. 4-21 and 4-22]. 

c. 1I0perateil means the physical manipulation or activation of any of 
the controls of a motor vehicle necessary to put it in motion [so 346.63 
(3), Stats.]. A number of court decisions have held that an intoxicated 
driver seated behind the wheel of a parked vehicle with the engine running 
;s an lIoperatorll for purposes of the basic OWl statute [see, e.g., Village 
of Elkhart Lake v. Borzyskowski, 123 Wis. 2d 185, 366 N.W. 2d 506 (Ct. 
App. 1985)]. 

Enforcement of the OWl statute is limited to driving or operation on 
IIhighways" or upon IIpremises held out to the public for use of their motor 
vehicles, whether such premises are publicly or privately owned and 
whether or not a fee is charged for use thereof II [so 346.61, Stats.]. In 
City of Kenosha v. Phillips, 142 Wis. 2d 549, 419 N.W. 2d 236 (1988), the 
Wisconsin Supreme Court held that a privately owned parking lot for a 
company's employes was not within the purview of this statute just because 
the employes were members of the publici in order to come within the 
statute, the company would have had to intend to permit the £ublic as a 
whole to use the premises for parking. 

2. Elements of the Offense 

Under current law, no person may drive or operate a motor vehicle: 

a. While under the influence of an intoxicant or a controlled 
substance, or both, under the influence of any other drug to a degree 
which renders him or her incapable of safely driving, or under.the 
combined influence of an intoxicant and any other drug to a degree which 
renders him or her incapable of safely driving (hereafter, referred to as 
lI under the influence of an intoxicant or drugs, or bothll)i or 

b. While the person has a BAC of 0.1% or more by weight of alcohol 
in that person's blood or 0.1 grams or more of alcohol in 210 liters of 
that person's breath (hereafter, referred to as lIa BAC of 0.1% or more"). 
In State v. Muehlenberg, 118 Wis. 2d 502, 508, 347 N.W. 2d 914, 917 (Ct. 
App. 1984), the Wisconsin Court of Appeals held that this provision, 
establishing a per se violation for driving with a SAC of 0.1% or more, 
was not unconstitutionally void for vagueficss since persons of common 
intelligence could, with a fair degree of definit~ness, know when they are 
in danger of violating that provision. 

• 

•• 
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3, Single Conviction if Person Guilty of Both Violations 

A person may be charged with and a prosecutor may proceed upon a 
complaint based upon a violation of item 2, a or b, above, or both for 
acts arising out of the same incident or occurrence. If the person is 
charged with violating both, the offenses must be joined. If the person 
is found guilty of both for acts arising out of the same incident or 
occurrence, there can be only a single conviction for purposes of (a) 
sentencin and (b) counting convictions under ss. 343.30 (1q) and 343.305, 
Stats see item 7, b, below for a discussion of "counting convictions for 
purposes OWI"). 

In State v. Bohacheff, 114 Wis. 2d, 338 N.W. 2d 466, .471-72 (1983), 
the Wisconsin Supreme Court held that this provision, permitting an OWl 
defendant to be charged with both driving under the influence and for 
having a BAC of 0.1% or more, did not violate the federal or state 
constitutional guarantees against doUble jeopardy because the Legislature 
intended prosecution for both offenses to terminate in one conviction for 
both charges. 

This item (i.e., item 3) also applies to OWl-related offenses 
discussed in Section B, below . 

4. Limits on Plea Bargaining 

Under current law, if the prosecutor seeks to dismiss or amend an OWl 
or OWl-related charge, the prosecutor must apply to the court. The 
application must state the reasons for the proposed amendment or 
dismissal. The court may approve the application only if the court finds 
that the proposed amendment or dismissal is consistent with the public's 
interest in deterring OWl [5. 967.055 (2) (a), Stats.J. 

5. Deferred Prosecution Not Permitted 

Current law specifies that a prosecutor may not place a person in a 
deferred prosecution program if the person is accused of or charged with 
an OWl or OWl-related violation [so 967.055 (3), Stats.J, 

6. Consideration of Level of BAC in Sentencing 

Under current law, in imposing a sentence for a violation based on 
the person's BAC, the court is required to review the record and consider 
the aggravating and mitigating factors in the matter. If the level of the 
person's blood alcohol level is known, the court is required to consider 
that level as a factor in sentencing. The chief judge of each judicial 
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administrative district must adopt uidelines for the consideration of 
aggravating and mitigating factors s. 346.65 (2m), Stats.]. 

7. Penalties and License Sanctions 

a. Table I 

Table I attached to this Information Memorandum summarizes the 
various penalties and license sanctions, including the waiting period for 
obtaining an occupational license, applicable to OWl and OWl-related 
offenses (discussed in Section S, below). Table I also includes the 
penalties for driving after license suspension or revocation since these 
offenses are frequently committed after a person has had his or her 
driver's license suspended or revoked for an OWl or OWl-related violation. 

b. Counting Offenses; Use of Date of Offense 

With reference to OWl penalties, it must be noted that, in addition 
to prior OWl offenses, prior refusals to take chemical tests under the 
implied consent law (see Part III, below) and prior OWl-related offenses 
(i.e., causing injury, great bodily harm or death by OWl) are counted in 
determining whether an OWl offense is a first, second or third or 
subsequent offense in a five-year period. Examples are: 

(1) Driver X is arrested for OWl. He has, within the past five 
years, been convicted (in a separate incident) of causing injury by OWl 
and has one prior improper refusal to take a chemical test. Driver X is 
subject to the penalties applicable to third offense OWl within a 
five-year period. 

(2) Driver Y is arrested for OWl. She has, within the past five 
years, been found (in a separate incident) t~ have improperly refused. to 
take a chemical test. Driver Y is subject to the penalties applicable to 
second offense OWl within a five-year period. 

Also: 

(1) A prior OWl conviction is counted in this determination of 
penalty level whether it was a conviction under the OWl statute or under a 
municipal ordinance in strict conformity with the OWl statute. 

(2) Prior convictions under the OWl statutes of another state or 
under local ordinances of a municipality in another state are also counted 
if the statute or municipal ordinance conforms with the Wisconsin OWl 
statute (i.e., has the same elements). Act 105 (effective January I, 
1991) changes this provision to read: 

• 

• 

• 



• 

• 

• 

-11-

If a person has a conviction for any offense under 
a local ordinance in substantial conformity with s. 
346.63 (1) (a) or (b) or both, or s. 346.63 (1) (a) 
or (5) (a), or both, or under the law of another 
jurisdiction that is in conformity with 49 C.F.R. 
s. 383.51 (b) (2) (i) or (ii), or both, or that 
prohibits refusal of chemical testing or use of a 
motor vehicle while intoxicated or under the 
influence of a controlled substance, or a 
combination thereof, or with an excess or specified 
range of alcohol concentration, or under the 
influence of any drug to a degree that renders the 
person incapable of safely driving, as those or 
substantially similar terms are used in that 
jurisdiction's laws, that conviction shall count as 
a prior conviction under this subdivision [so 
343.305 (10) (b) I, Stats.]. 

With reference to identifying prior relevant convictions within a 
five-year period (the period used in the OWl statute for counting 
offenses), time is calculated with reference to date of offense and not 
date of conviction. For example, if Driver X committed an OWl offense on 
January I, 1990 and then committed another OWl offense on January 5, 1995, 
the latter offense would not be considered Driver X's second OWl offense 
(subjecting Driver X to the criminal penalties applicable to such an 
offense), but a first OWl offense (a civil forfeiture offense). 

c. Community Service 

Under current law, in addition to the authority of the court under s. 
973.05 (3) (a), Stats., to provide that a defendant perform community 
service work for a public agency or a nonprofit charitable organization in 
lieu of part or all of a criminal fine imposed for an OWl violation, .the 
court may: --

(I) Provide that an OWl violator perform community service work for 
a public agency or a nonprofit charitable organization in lieu of part or 
all of a forfeiture (i.e., penalty for first offense OWl); or 

(2) Require an OWl violator to perform community service work for a 
public agency or a nonprofit charitable organization in addition to the 
penalties specified for OWl. 

Current law specifies that: 

(1) An order may only ap~1y if agreed to by the organization or 
agency . 
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(2) The court must ensure that the violator is provided a written 
statement of the terms of the community service order and that the 
community service order is monitored. 

(3) Any organization or agency acting in good faith to which a 
violator is assigned has immunity from any civil liability in excess of 
$25,000 for acts or omissions by or impacting on the defendant [so 346.65 
(2) (g), Stats.]. 

d. Restitution 

In addition to the other penalties for an OWl violation, current law 
permits a judge to order a violator to pay restitution under s. 973.20, 
Stats., which sets forth the requirements and procedures applicable to 
restitution orders under the Criminal Code. However, for purposes of OWl, 
s. 973.20, Stats. I also applies to first offense OWl, whether a statutory 
violation or a violation of an ordinance in conformity with the statute 
[so 346.65 (2r), Stats.]. 

e. Driver Improvement Surcharge 

• 

Current law specifies that if a court imposes a fine or a forfeiture 
for an OWl or OWl-related violation, it must impose a driver improvement 
surcharge in an amount of $250. This surcharge is in addition to the fine 
0fr fOrftehiturde~ pena!ty assessment and

h 
jail assessmendt. Moneys 'bcod1!ecte

h
d ~ 

rom e rlver lmprovement surc arge are use , as prescrl e ln t e 
statutes: 

(1) By county "51.42 boards" for drivers referred through drug or 
alcohol assessment (see item 8, below) to such boards. 

(2) By the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) to 
finance state operations associated with administrative costs for serv~ces 
to drivers. 

(3) By the Department of Public Instruction and the State Laboratory 
of Hygiene for services they provide to drivers. 

(4) By the Department af Justice to provide crime victim 
compensation services [ss. 20.435 (6) (hx) and 346.655, Stats.]. 

As with other statutory assessments and surcharges, a person who 
fails to pay the driver improvement surcharge may be committed to county 
jail until the surcharge is paid, for a period f'ixed by the court not to 
exceed six months [so 973.07, Stats.]. 

• 
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f. Other Surcharges and Special Assessments 

In addition to the items set forth in Table I (which includes the 
driver improvement surcharge discussed in item e, above), the following 
other. surcharges and special assessments may also be applicable depending 
on the OWl or OWl-related offense involved: 

(1) Penalty Assessment. Whenever a court imposes a 
forfeiture for ~ violation of state or municipal law, except 
traffic violations or safety belt use violations, it must impose 
assessment equal to 20% of the fine or forfeiture [so 165.87 
Stats.]. -

fine or 
nonmoving 
a penalty 
(2) (a), 

(2) Crime Victim and Witness Surcharge. Whenever the court imposes 
a sentence or places a person on probation for any felony or misdemeanor 
violation, it must also impose a crime victim and witness surcharge of ~30 
for each misdemeanor count and $50 for each felony count [so 973.045, 
Stats.]. 

(3) Restitution Surcharge. If the court orders restitution as part 
of a sentence or as a condition of probation, an amount equal to 10% of 
the restitution ordered is a statutory cost taxable against the defendant 
[5. 973.06 (1) (g), Stats.]. 

tit (4) Jail Assessment. Whenever a court imposes a fine or forfeiture 
for any violation of state or municipal law, except nonmoving traffic 
violations or safety belt use violations, it must impose a jail assessment 
of 1% of the fine or forfeiture, or $10, whichever is greater [so 53.46 

• 

(l)-ra), Stats.]. -

(5) Court Automation Fee. Except for a safety belt use violation, 
the clerk of circuit court must charge and collect a $1 court automation 
fee on forfeiture actions that are filed in circuit court (i.e., ·not 
applicable to municipal costs) [so 814.635, Stats.y.--

8. Assessment for Alcohol or Drug Use and Driver Safety Plan 

a. Assessment 

Under current law, except as otherwise provided in item (1) or (2), 
below, the court is required to order a person convicted of OWl or an 
OWl-related offense to submit to and comply with an assessment by an 
lIapproved public treatment facility" [defined in S. 51.45 (2) (c), Stats.] 
for examination of a person's use of alcohol or controlled substances and 
development of a driver safety plan for the person. The court must notify 
the DOT of the assessment order. The assessment order must: 

. , 
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(1) If the person is a resident, refer the person to an approved 
public treatment facility in the county in which the person resides. The 
far.ility named in the order may provide for assessment of the person in 
another approved public treatment facility. The order must provide that 
if the person is temporarily residing in another state, the facility named 
in the order may refer the person to an appropriate treatment facility in 
that state for assessment and development of a driver safety plan for the 
person satisfying the requirements of that state. 

(2) If the person is a nonresident, refer the person to an approved 
public treatment facility in this state. The order must provide that the 
facility named in the order may refer the person to an appropriate 
treatment facility in the state in which the person resides for assessment 
and development of a driver safety plan for the person satisfying the 
requirements of that state. 

(3) Require a person who is referred to a treatment facility in 
another state under item (1) or (2), above, to furnish the DOT written 
verification of his or her compliance from the agency which administers 
the assessment and driver safety plan program. The person must provide 
initial verification of compliance within 60 days after the date of his or 
her conviction. 

b. Assessment Facility's Report and Driver Safety Plan 

Prior to developing a plan which specifies treatment, the facility 
must make a finding that (1) treatment is necessary and (2) appropriate 
services are available. The facility must submit a report of the 
assessment and the driver safety plan within 14 days to the county 51.42 
board, the plan provider, the DOT and the person. However, upon request 
by the facility and the person, the 51.42 board may extend the period for 
assessment for not more than 20 additional workdays. 

The assessment report must order compliance with a driver safety plan 
which may include: (1) treatment for the person's misuse, abuse or 
dependence on alcohol or controlled substances; (2) attendance at a 
driver's school under s. 345.60, Stats.j or (3) both. If the plan 
requires inpatient treatment, the treatment may not exceed 30 days. The 
plan must include a termination date consistent with the plan which may 
not extend beyond one year. 

c. Notification of Compliance or Noncompliance with Plan 

The 51.42 board is required to assure notification of the DOT and the 
person of the person's compliance or noncompliance with assessment and 
with treatment. The driver's school is required to notify the DOT, the 
51.42 board and the person of the person's compliance or noncompliance 
with the requirements of the school. If the DOT is notified of any 
noncompliance, it must suspend the person's license until the 51.42 board 

• 

• 
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or the driver's school notifies the DOT that the person is incompliance 
with the assessment or the driver safety plan. The DOT must notify the 
person of the suspension, the reason for the suspension and the person's 
right to a review. 

d. Review of Suspension for Inappropriateness of or Noncompliance 
with Plan 

A person may request a review, by the DOT, of a suspension based upon 
failure to comply with a driver safety plan within 10 days of notification 
of suspension by the DOT. The issues at the review are limited to (I) 
whether the driver safety plan, if challenged, is appropriate and (2) 
whether the person is in compliance with the assessmeDt order or the 
driver safety plan. The review must be conducted within 10 days after a 
request is received. 

If the driver safety plan is determined to be inappropriate, the DOT 
must order a reassessment and if the person is otherwise eligible, the DOT 
must reinstate the person's operating privilege. If the person is 
determined to be in compliance with the assessment or driver safety plan, 
and if the person is otherwise eligible, the DOT must reinstate the 
person's operating privilege. 

e. When Order for Assessment and Plan Not Required 

Notwithstanding the above, if the court finds that the person is 
already covered by an assessment or is participating in a driver safety 
plan or has had evidence presented to it by a 51.42 board that the person 
has recently completed an assessment, a driver safety plan, or both, the 
court is not re uired to make an order as described above [so 343.30 (la) 
(c) to (e), Stats .. 

B. OWl-RELATED OFFENSES 

1. Injury by OWl [so 346.63 (2), Stats.] 

a. Elements of the Offense 

Under current iaw, it is unlawfu"1 for any person to cause "injury" 
(which is not defined in the Motor Vehicle Code) to another person by the 
operation of a vehicle: 

(1) While under the influence of an intoxicant or drugs, or both; or 

(2) While the person has a BAC of 0.1% or more . 
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b. Affirmative Defense 

Current. law specifies that the defendant has a defense if it appears 
by a re onderance of the evidence that the injury would have occurred 
even if 1 he or she had been exercising due care and (2) he or she had 
not been under the influence of an intoxicant or drugs, or both, or did 
not have a SAC of 0.1% or more. For example, this defense might be used 
by Driver X who, with a BAC of 0.17%, is stopped at a red light and is 
rear-ended by Driver Y, resulting in injury to a passenger in Driver Y's 
vehicle. 

c. Penalties and License Sanctions 

Table I attached to this Memorandum summarizes the various penalties 
and license sanctions, including the waiting period for obtaining an 
occupational license, applicable to causing injury by OWl. 

2. Causing Great Bodily Harm by OWl [so 940.25, Stats.] 

a. Elements of the Offense 

Under current law, it is unlawful for any person to do either of the 
fo 1low; ng: 

(1) Cause great bodily harm to another human being by the operation 
of a vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant. For purposes of 
s. 940.25, Stats.: 

(a) IIGreat bodily harm" is defined to mean "bodily lnJury 
which creates a substantial risk of death, or which causes 
serious permanent disfigurement, or which causes a permanent or 
protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily 
member or organ or other serious bodily injury" [so 939.22 
(14), Stats.]. 

(b) "Vehicle" is defined to mean any self-propelled device for 
moving persons or property or pulling implements from one place 
to another, whether such device is operated on land, rails, 
water or in the air [so 939.22 (44), Stats.]; this is broader 
than the "motor vehicle" definition applicable to OWl and 
injury by OWl under s. 346.63, Stats. This definition also 
applies to s. 940.09, Stats., discussed in item 3, below. 

(2) Cause great bodily harm to another human being by the operation 
of a vehicle while the person has a BAC of 0.1% or more. 

• 

• 

•• 
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b. Affirmative Defense 

Current law specifies that the defendant has a defense if it appears 
by a preponderance of th~ evidence that the great bodily harm would have 
occurred even if (1) he or she had been exercising due care and (2) he or 
she had not been under the influence of an intoxicant or did not have a 
SAC of 0.1% or more. 

c. Penalties and License Sanctions 

Table I attached to this Information Memorandum summarizes the 
various penalties and license sanctions including the waiting period for 
obtaining an occupational license, applicable to causing great bodily harm 
by OWl. 

3. Causing Death by OWl [so 940.09, Stats.] 

a. Elements of the Offense 

Under current law, any person who does either of the following is 
guilty of a Class D felony (punishable by a fine of not more than $10,000, 
imprisonment for not more than five years, or both): 

(1) Causes the death of another by the operation or handling of a 
vehicle, firearm or airgun and while under the influence of an intoxicant; 
or 

(2) Causes the death of another bv the operation or handling of a 
vehicle, firearm or airgun while the person has a SAC of 0.1% or more. 

b. Affirmative Defense 

The defendant has a defense if it appears by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the death would have occurred even if (1) he or she had been 
exercising due care and (2) he or she had not been under the influence of 
an intoxicant or did not have a BAC of 0.1% or more. 

c. Penalties and License Sanctions 

Table I attached to this Memorandum summarizes the various penalties . 
and license sanctions, including the waiting period for obtaining an 
occupational license, applicable to death by OWl . 
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4. Absolute Sobriety for Drivers Under Age 19 [so 346.63 (2m), Stats.] 

a. Elements of the Offense 

Under current law, if a person has not attained the age of 19, the 
person may not drive or operate a motor vehicle while he or she has a BAC 
of more than 0.0% but not more than 0.1%. That is, the person may not 
drive or operate a motor vehicle with even a trace of alcohol in his or 
her system. 

b. Penalties and License Sanctions 

Table I attached to this Memorandum summarizes the various penalties 
and license sanctions applicable to violation of the "absolute sobriety" 
law. 

C. OWl LAWS RELATING TO ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES, BOATING AND SNOWMOBILING 

1. Elements of the Offense 

• 

Current law contains prOV1Slons relating to the operation of an ATV 
[so 23.33, Stats.], a boat [so 30.681, Stats.] or a snowmobile [so 
350.101, Stats.] while under the influence of an intoxicant or drugs, or 
bothl'lor

l 
whhile hav~n~ a BAC of 0.1% or more. In genderal'bthese prdo~isll'onds ~ 

para e t e provlslons described in Sections A an B, a ove, an lnc ue 
prohibitions against operating or causing injury by operating an ATV, boat 
or snowmobile while under the influence of an intoxicant or with a SAC of 
0.1% or more. Causing great bodily harm or death by OWl is not included 
in these statutes because the term "vehicle" [as defined in s. 939.22 
(44), Stats., for purposes of the Criminal Code] in SSt 940.09 and 940.25, 
Stats., is broad enough to include ATV's, boats and snowmobiles. 

2. Pen a It ies 

Table II attached to this Memorandum summarizes the various penalties 
applicable to ATV, boat and snowmobile OWl and causing injury by OWl. 

D. SPECIAL OWl PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO CMV DRIVERS 

1989 Wisconsin Act 105 implemented the requirements of the Federal 
Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 [P.L. 99-570J in Wisconsin. 
The Federal Act was enacted to, among other things, improve the quality of 
CMV drivers and to remove problem CMV drivers from the highways. As noted 
in Part I, C, above, the provisions in Act 105 referred to in this 
Memorandum take effect on January 1, 1991. Among other things, the Act 
contains the following provisions relating to OWl: •• 
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1. Prohibitions Against Operating CMV's with a BAC of .04% to 0.1% 

Act 105 prohibits persons from: (a) driving or operating a CMV with 
a BAC between .04% and 0.1%; and (b) causing injury by driving or 
operating a CMV with a BAC between .04% and 0.1%. The penalties for these 
violations are the current fines and forfeitures and terms of imprisonment 
applicable to a person who operates, or causes injury by operation of, any 
vehicle while the person has a BAC of 0.1% or greater (see Table I 
attached). However, there is no administrative suspension or assessment 
for alcohol or drug problems for these offenders. In addition, offenders 
are subject to disqualification from operating CMV's for a specified 
period of time, depending on the offense. Any CMV operator found to have 
a BAC of 0.1% or greater is subject to all the current OWl laws, including 
administrative suspension and assessment [so 346.63 (5) and (6), Stats.; 
effective January I, 1991]. 

2. Absolute Sobriety Provision 

Act 105 creates an offense for driving or operating or being on duty 
time with respect to a CMV: 

(a) 

. (b) 
influence 
or 

With a BAC above 0.0%; 

Within four hours of having consumed or having been under' the 
of an intoxicating beverage, regardless of its alcohol content; 

(c) While possessing an intoxicating beverage (unless the beverage 
is unopened and is transported as part of a shipment). 

If a law enforcement officer administers a BAC test which indicates a 
BAC above 0.0%, the officer must take possession of the license and retain 
it for 24 hours, during which time period the operator would be considered 
"out of service." In addition, the CMV operator is subject to a $10 
forfeiture [so 346.63 (7) (a), Stats.; effective January I, 1991]. 

3. Requests for Breath, Blood and Urine Samples 

Act 105 permits a law enforcement officer to request, under specified 
conditions, one or more samples of breath, blood or urine from a CMV 
operator for purposes of chemical testing prior to his or her arrest. In 
addition, the Act provides that a person operating or lion duty time" with 
respect to a CMV is considered to have given his or her implied consent 
for chemical testing. "On duty time" is defined as the period the 
operator begins to work or is required to be in readiness to work until 
the time the operator is relieved from work and all responsibility for 
performing work . 
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4. Occupational Licenses 

Act 105 prohibits disqualified CMV drivers from operating CMVls under 
the authority of an occupational license. However, if a person1s 
commercial driver1s license is suspended or revoked due to an OWl 
violation in a noncommercial motor vehicle and the person was not 
operating a CMV at the time of the violation, the person may petition the 
DOT for an occupational license that would authorize the operation of 
certain CMVls. There is no minimum waiting period for the petition to be 
considered, and the license may contain limitations and restrictions 
imposed by DOT. 

E. OTHER PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO OWl AND OWl-RELATED OFFENSES 

1. Time Period Prior to Release of Person Arrested for OWl or an 
OWl-Related Offense 

• 

A person arrested for OWl or an OWl-related offense may not be 
released (a) until 12 hours have elapsed from the time of his or her 
arrest or (b) unless a chemical test administered in accordance with s. 
343.305,-Stats. (the implied consent law), shows that the person has a BAC 
of .05% (changed by Act 105 to .04%, effective January 1, 1991) or less. 
However, the person may be released to his or her attorney, spouse, 
relative or other responsible adult at any time after arrest. Under Act ~ 
105 (effective January 1, 1991), if the person is a CMV operator who was 
issued an lIout-of-service ll order, the person may be released under the 
same conditions, but his or her license may be retained until the 
out-of-service order has expired [so 345.24, Stats.]. 

2. Occupational Licenses 

The waiting periods for occupational licenses applicable to persons 
convicted of OWl, OWl-related and other pertinent violations are set forth 
in Table I attached to this Memorandum. 

a. Procedures and Requirements for Issuance of License 

The current law relating to issuance of occupational licenses to 
persons whose licenses are revoked or suspended is set forth, for the most 
part, in s. 343.10, Stats. In general, provisions in that section 
applicable to OWl and OWl-related offenses specify that: 

(1) If a person1s license is revoked or suspended and if the person 
is engaged in an occu ation (including homemaking, full-time or part-time 
study, or a trade making it essential that he or she operate a motor 
vehicle, the person, if he or she complies with the conditions in item 
(2)/ below, may file with a court in the county of his or her residence a .' 
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petition setting forth in detail the need for operating a motor vehicle. 
Under Act 105 (effective January 1, 1991), there are special provisions 
permitting a CMV driver to file his or her petition directly with the DOT 
and to have the occupational license issued administratively by the DOT. 

(2) Upon receipt of the petition, the judge may order the DOT to 
issue an occupational license to the person if both of the following 
apply: 

(a) The person's license or operating privilege 
was not revoked or suspended within the one-year 
period immediately preceding the present revocation 
or suspension; and 

(b) The person files proof of financial 
responsibility (e.g., insurance) covering all 
vehicles for which the person seeks permission to 
operate. 

(3) Upon receipt of a petition, the judge may issue a 3D-day 
tern orar occu ational license to the person if the conditions under item 
2 are satisfied and after 15 days have elapsed since the date of 

revocation or suspension. 

4It (4) The order for issuance of an occupational license must contain 
definite restrictions as to hours of the day, not to exceed 12; hours per 
week, not to exceed 60; type of occupation; and areas or routes of travel 
which are permitted under the license. 

• 

(5) The judge must consider the number and seriousness of prioe 
traffic convictions in determining whether to order the issuance of an 
occupational license and what restrictions to specify. A copy of the 
petition and the order for the occupational license must be forwarded. to 
the DOT. 

(6) Occupational licenses are subject to the waiting periods set 
forth in Table I attached to this Memorandum. 

(7) An occupational license is valid from the date of issuanc~ by 
the DOT until termination of the period of revocation or suspensl0n, 
unless the occupational license is revoked, suspended or canceled prior to 
termination of that period. 

b. Penalty and License Sanction for Violation of Restriction 

Any person who violates any restriction of an occupational license is 
subject to immediate revocation of the license and: 
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(1) Except under item (2), below, forfeiture of not less than $150 
nor more than $600. 

(2) A fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and 
imprisonment for not more than six months, if the number of convictions 
for violating occupational license restrictions equals two or more in a 
five-year period. 

• 

• 

•• 
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PART I II 

IMPLIED CONSENT LAW 

This Part of the Memorandum discusses the implied consent law 
applicable to motor vehicles. However/ very similar implied consent laws 
are to be found in the statutes relating to OWl boating [ss. 30.682 and 
30.684, Stats.], snowmobiling [S5. 350.102 and 350.104, Stats.] and 
operation of an ATV [so 23.33 (4L) and (4p), Stats.]. 

A. IMPLIED CONSENT LAW IN GENERAL [so 343.305 (2), Stats.]. 

Under current law, any person who drives or operates a motor vehicle 
upon the public highways of this state is deemed to have given consent to 
one or more tests of his or her breath, blood or urine, for the purpose of 
determining the presence or quantity in his or her blood or breath, of 
alcohol, controlled substances, a combination of alcohol and controlled 
substances, other drugs or a combination of alcohol and other drugs when 
requested to do so by a law enforcement officer or when required to do so. 
Any such tests must be administered upon the request of a law enforcement 
officer. The law enforcement agency by which the officer is employed must 
be prepared to administer, either at its agency or any other agency or 
facility, two of the three tests and may designate which of the tests 
shall be administered first. 

B. PRELIMINARY BREATH SCREENING TEST [so 343.303, Stats.] 

Under current law, if a law enforcement officer has probable cause to 
believe that the person is violating or has violated an OWl or OWl-related 
offense, the officer, prior to an arrest, may request the person to 
provide a sample of his or her breath for a preliminary breath screening 
test (PST) using a device approved by the DOT for this purpose. The 
result of the PST may be used by the officer for the purpose of deciding 
(1) whether or not the person should be arrested for an OWl violation and 
(2) whether or not to require or request chemical tests as authorized 
under the implied consent law. The result of the PBT is not admissible in 
any action or proceeding except (1) to show probable cause for an arrest, 
if the ·arrest is challenged, or (2) to prove that a chemical test was 
properly required or requested of a person. Following the screening test, 
additional tests may be required or requested of the driver under the 
implied consent law. 

There is no penalty applicable to refusal to take a PBT . 
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RELATING TO INVOKING THE LAW s. 343.305 3 to 

1. When Test Requested or Required 

Current law specifies that upon arrest of a person for an OWl or 
OWl-related violation, a law enforcement officer may request the person to 
provide one or more samples of his or her breath, blood or urine for the 
purpose specified in Section A, above. Act 105 (effective January 1, 
1991) specifies that compliance with a request for one type of sample does 
not bar a subsequent request for a different type of sample. 

A person who is unconscious or otherwise not capable ,of withdrawing 
consent is presumed not to have withdrawn consent, and if an officer has 
probable cause to believe that the person has committed a violation, one 
or more tests may be administered to the person. 

Current law specifies that these provisions do not limit the right of 
a law enforcement officer to obtain evidence by any--other lawful means 
(e.g., by a search incident to lawful arrest or pursuant to a search 
warrant; by an emergency search supported by probable cause for arrest). 

2. Information to be Provided at Time Test Requested 

At the time a chemical test specimen is requested, the person must be 
orally informed by the law enforcement officer that: 

a. He or she is deemed to have consented to tests under the implied 
consent law; 

b. If testing is refused, the person's operating privilege will be 
revoked; 

c. If one or more tests are taken and the results of any test 
indicate that the person has a BAC of 0.1% or more, the person will be 
subject to penalties and the person's operating privilege will be 
suspended under the administrative suspension law (discussed in Part IV, 
below); and 

d. After submitting to testing, the person tested has the right to 
have an additional test made by a person of his or her own choosing. 

• 

• 

.' 
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D. CHEMICAL TEST PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS 

1. Alternative Test 

A person who submits to the test is permitted, upon his or her 
request, the alternative test provided by the agency or l at his or her own 
expense, reasonable opportunity to have any qualified person of his or her 
own choosing administer a chemical test. 

2. Persons Permitted to Withdraw Blood; Immunity 

Blood may be withdrawn' from the person arrested. for an OWl or 
OWl-related offense only by a physician, registered nurse, medical 
technologist, physician's assistant or person acting under the direction 
of a physician. A person so acting, the employer of any such person and 
any hospital where blood is withdrawn by any such person have immunity 
from civil or criminal liability under s. 895.53, Stats. 

3. Admissibility of Tests at Trial 

At the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising 
out of the acts committed by a person alleged to have committed an OWl 
violation, the results of a properly administered chemical test are 
admissible on: (a) the issue of whether the person was under the 
influence of an intoxicant or drugs, or both; or (b) any issue relating to 
the person's BAC. The test results are admissible (i.e., no other proof 
is required for admissibility) on the issue of intoxication or BAC of 0.1% 
or more if the test sample is taken within three hours after the event to 
be proved. If the sample is not taken within the three-hour limit, expert 
testimony is required to establish the probative value of the analysis. 
Test results must be given the effect required under 5. 885.235, Stats. (a 
copy of which is attached). 

4. Requirements Applicable to Analysis 

To be considered valid, chemical analyses of blood or urine must have 
been performed substantially according to methods approved by the State 
Laboratory of Hygiene and by an individual possessing a valid permit to 
perform the analyses issued by the DHSS. 

The DOT is required to approve techniques or methods of performing 
chemical analysis of the breath and must: 

a. Approve training manuals and courses throughout the state for the 
training of officers in the chemical analysis of a person's breath; 
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b. Certify the qualifications and competence of individuals to 
conduct the analysis; 

c. Have tra'ined technicians, approved by the DOT Secretary, test and 
certify the accuracy of the equipment to be used by law enforcement 
officers for chemical analysis of a person's breath before regular use of 
the equipment and periodically thereafter at intervals of not more than 
120 days; and 

d. Issue permits to individuals according to their qualifications. 

5. Separate Adequate Breath Sample Requirement 

Current law specifies that if a breath test is administered using an 
infrared breath-testing instrument: 

a. The test must consist of analyses in the following sequence: one 
adequate breath sample analysis, one calibration standard analysis, and a 
second, adequate breath sample analysis. 

b. A sample is adequate if the instrument analyzes the sample and 
does not indicate the sample is deficient. 

• 

c. Failure of a person to provide two separate adequate breath ~ 
samples in the proper sequence constitutes a refusal. 

E. EFFECTS OF SUBMITTING TO THE TEST 

See the discussion of administrative suspension of license in Part IV 
of this Memorandum and the penalties for having a BAC of 0.1% or more set 
forth in Table I attached to this Memorandum. 

F. REFUSAL TO SUBMIT TO CHEMICAL TEST [so 343.305 (9) and (10), Stats.] 

1. Procedures Prior to Hearing on Refusal 

Current law specifies that if a person refuses to take a chemical 
test, the officer must immediately prepare a notice of intent to revoke 
the person's operating privilege. The officer must issue a copy of the 
notice to the person and submit or mail a copy to the circuit court for 
the county in which the refusal is made, the district attorney for that 
county and the DOT. The notice of the person's operating privilege must 
contain substantially the following information: 

• 
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a. That prior to a request for a chemical test, the officer had 
placed the person under arrest and issued a citation, if appropriate, for 
an OWl or OWl-related violation. 

b. That the officer complied with the oral information requirements 
set forth in Section B, 2, above. 

c. That the person refused a request for a chemical test. 

d. That the person may request a hearing on the revocation within 10 
days by mailing or delivering a written request to the court whose address 
is specified in the notice. If no request for a hearing is received 
within the lO-day period, the revocation period commences 30 days after 
the notice is issued. 

e. That the issues of the hearing are limited to: 

(1) Whether the officer had probable cause to 
believe the person was driving or operating a motor 
vehicle: (a) while under the influence of alcohol, 
a controlled substance, or both; (b) while under 
the influence of any other drug to a degree which 
renders him or her incapable of safely driving, or 
under the combined influence of alcohol and any 
other drug to a degree which renders him or her 
incapable of safely driving; or (c) while having a 
BAC of 0.1% or more. 

(2) Whether the person was 1 awfu lly placed under 
arrest for an OWl or OWl-related violation. 

(3) Whether the officer complied with the oral 
information requirements set forth in Section B, 2, 
above. 

(4) Whether the person refused to permit the test. 
The person must be deemed not to have refused the 
test if it is shown by a preponderance of evidence 
that the refusal was due to a physical inability to 
submit to the test due to a physical disability or 
disease unrelated to the use of alcohol, controlled 
substances or other drugs. 

f. That, if it is determined that the person refused the test, there 
will be an order for the person to comply with assessment and a driver 
safety plan. 

The use of this notice by an officer is adequate process to give the 
appropriate court jurisdiction over the person . 
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2. Hearing on Refusal 

If a law enforcement officer informs the circuit court that a person 
has refused to submit to a test, the court must be prepared to hold any 
requested hearing to determine if the refusal was proper. The scope of 
the hearing is limited to the issues outlined in item 1, e, above. 

At the close of the hearing l or within five days thereafter, the 
court must determine the issues under item 1, e, above. If all issues are 
determined adversely to the person, the court must proceed under items 3 
and 4, below, relating to revocation and assessment. If one or more of 
the issues is determined favorably to the person, the court must order 
that no action be taken on the operating privilege on a9count of the 
person's refusal to take the test in question. However, this does not 
preclude the prosecution of the person for an OWl or OWl-related 
violation. 

3. Court-Ordered Revocation 

If the court determines that a person improperly refused to take a 
test or if the person does not request a hearing within 10 days after the 
person has been served with the notice of intent to revoke the person's 
operating privilege, the court is required to proceed as follows: 

a. No hearing requested. If no hearing was requested, the 
revocation period must begin 30 days after the date of the refusal. 

b. Hearing requested. If a hearing was requested, the revocation 
period must commence 30 days after the date of refusal or immediately upon 
a final determination that th~ refusal was improper, whichever is later. 

The period of revocation, which depends on the number of prior 
refusals or OWl or OWl-related violations in a five-year period, are set 
forth in Table I attached to this Information Memorandum. An example of 
how this counting of prior refusals and OWl or OWl-related violations 
operates follows: 

Driver Z improperly refuses to take a chemical test 
under the implied consent law. He has, within the 
past five years, been convicted, in separate 
incidents, of OWl and causing great bodily harm by 
OWl. Driver Z is subject to the license revocation 
periods and related provisions applicable to a 
third improper refusal within a five-year period. 

Provisions discussed in Part II, A, 7, b, relating to counting 
offenses for OWl violations are applicable to counting offenses for 
refusals. 

-----, I 

I 

• 

• 

• 
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4. Assessment and Treatment 

If a person unlawfully refuses to take a chemical test, he or she is 
subject to assessment and treatment provisions similar to those discussed 
in Part II, A, 6, b, above, for persons convicted of OWl or OWl-related 
offenses . 
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PART IV 

ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION FOR HIGH LEVEL CHEMICAL TEST 

A. ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION BY DOT [so 343.305 (7) and (8), Stats.] 

1. Action by Officer if High Test; Period of Suspension 

If a person submits to chemical testing administered in accordance 
with the implied consent law and any test results indicate a BAC of 0.1% 
or more, the officer must: (a) report the results to the DOT; and (b) 
take possession of the person's license and forward it to the DOT. The 
person's operating privilege is then administratively suspended for six 
months. 

2. Request for Administrative Review of Suspension 

Within 10 days after the notification or, if the notification is by 
mail, within 13 days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, after the 
date of the mailing, the person may request, in writing, that the DOT 
review the administrative suspension. The review procedure is not subject 
to ch. 227, Stats. (the Administrative Procedures Act) . 

The officer must provide the person with a separate form for the 
person to use to request the administrative review. The form must clearly 
indicate how to request an administrative review and must clearly notify 
the person that this form must be submitted within 10 days from the notice 
date indicated on the form. 

3. Administrative Hearing 

If the offense allegedly occurred in the County of Milwaukee, 
Waukesha or Dane, the DOT must refer the matter to the Office of the 
Commissioner of Transportation (OCT) and the OCT must hold the hearing on 
the matter. The DOT must hold the hearing on the matter if the offense 
allegedly occurred in any other county. Hearings by the DOT must be held 
in the county in which the offense allegedly occurred or at the nearest 
office of the DOT if the offense allegedly occurred in a county in which 
the DOT does not maintain an office. 

The DOT or the OCT, respectively, must hold a hearing regarding the 
administrative suspension within 30 days after the date of notification. 
The person may present evidence and may be represented by counsel. The 
arresting officer need not appear at the administrative hearing unless 
subpoenaed under s. 805.07, Stats., but he or she must submit a copy of 
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his or her report and the results of the chemical test to the hearing 
examiner. The hearing is limited to the following issues: 

a. The correct identity of the person. 

b. Whether the person was informed of the options regarding tests. 

c. Whether the person had a BAC of 0.1% or more at the time the 
offense allegedly occurred. 

d. Whether one or more tests were administered in accordance with 
the implied consent law. 

e. If one or more tests were administered, whether each of the test 
results for those tests indicates the person had a BAC of 0.1% or more. 

f. Whether probable cause existed for the arrest. 

The hearing examiner must conduct the administrative hearin~ in an 
informal manner. No testimony given by any witness may be used ln any 
subsequent action or proceeding. The hear-ing examiner may permit 
testimony by telephone if the site of the administrative hearing is 
equipped with telephone facilities to allow multiple-party conversations. 

4. Findings of Hearing Examiner 

If the hearing examiner finds that the criteria for administrative 
suspension have not been satisfied or that the person did not have a BAC 
of 0.1% or more at the time the offense allegedly occurred, the examiner 
must order that the administrative suspension of the person's operating 
privilege be rescinded. If the hearing examiner finds that the criteria 
for administrative suspension have been satisfied and that the person .had 
a BAC of 0.1% or more at the time the offense allegedly occurred, the 
administrative suspension must continue. 

5. Notice of Decision, Right to Judicial Review and Possible Stay of 
S~spension 

The hearing examiner must notify the person in writing of the hearing . 
decision, of the right to judicial review and of the court's authority to 
lssue a stay of the suspension under Section B, 3, below. The 
administrative suspension is vacated and the person's operating privilege 
must be automatically reinstated if the hearing examiner fails to mail 
this notice to the person within 30 days after the date of the 
notification. 

• 

• 

•• 
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B. JUDICIAL REVIEW [so 343.305 (8) (c), Stats.] 

1. Request for Review; Request Does Not Stay Suspension 

An individual aggrieved by the determination of the hearing examiner 
may have the determination reviewed by the court hearing the action 
relating to the OWl or OWl-related violation applicable to the individual. 
If the individual seeks judicial review, he or she must file the request 
for judicial review with the court within 20 days of the issuance of the 
hearing examiner's decision. The court must send a copy of that request 
to the DOT. 

A request for judicial review does not stay any. administrative 
suspension order. 

2. Judicial Review 

The judicial review must be conducted at the time of the trial of the 
underlying offense. The prosecutor of the underlying offense is required 
to represent the interests of the DOT. 

3. Court Order 

The court must order that the administrative suspension be either 
rescinded or sustained and forward its order to the DOT. The DOT must 
vacate the administrative suspension unless, within 60 days of the date of 
the request for judicial review of the administrative hearing decision, 
the DOT has been notified of the result of the judicial review or of an 
order of the court entering a stay of the hearing examiner1s order 
continuing the suspension. 

4. Appeal of Lower Court Order 

Any party aggrieved by the order of a circuit court may appeal to the 
court of appeals. Any party aggrieved by the order of a municipal court 
may appeal to the circuit court for the county where the offense allegedly 
occurred. 

C. ELIGIBILITY FOR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE [so 343.305 (8) (d), Stats.] 

A person who has his or her operating privilege administratively 
suspended is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10, Stats., 
at any time. 
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PART V 

INTOXICANTS IN MOTOR VEHICLES 

A. POSSESSION OR TRANSPORTATION OF INTOXICANTS IN MOTOR VEHICLES BY 
PERSONS UNDER THE LEGAL DRINKING AGE [so 346.93, Stats.] 

1. Elements of the Offense 

Current law specifies that no person under the legal drinking age 
(i.e., under 21 years of age) may knowingly ~ssess, transport or have 
under his or her control any alcohol beverage in any motor vehicle unless: 

a. The person is employed by a brewer, an alcohol beverage licensee, 
wholesaler, retailer, distributor, manufacturer or rectifier; and 

b. The person is possessing, transporting or having such a beverage 
in a motor vehicle under his or her control during his or her workin 
hours and in the course of employment, as provided under s. 125.07 4 
(bm), Stats. 

2. Penalty 

An underage person violating this prohibition may be required to 
forfeit not less than $20 nor more than $400 [so 346.95 (2), Stats.], 
However, under Act 105~ffective January-1-,-1991), if the underage person 
is driving or operating or on duty time with respect to a CMV, the 
underage person will also be issued an "out-of-service" order for a 
24-hour period [SSe 346.65 (2u) and 346.93, Stats.]. 

B. DRINKING OR POSSESSION OF INTOXICANTS IN MOTOR VEHICLES; GENERAL 
PROHIBITION [5. 346.935, Stats.] , 

1. Elements of the Offense 

Under current law: 

a. Drinking in motor vehicle. No person may drink alcohol beverages 
in any motor vehicle when the vehicle is upon a highway. 

b. Possession on person in motor vehicle. No person may possess on 
his or her person, in a privately owned motor vehicle upon a public 
highway, any bottle or receptacle containing alcohol beverages if: (1) 
the bottle or receptacle has been opened; (2) the seal has been broken; or 
(3) the contents of the bottle or receptacle have been partially removed . 
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c. Kept in motor vehicle. The owner of a privately owned motor 
vehicle, or the driver of the vehicle if the owner is not present in the 
vehicle, may not keep, or allow to be kept, in the motor vehicle when it 
is upon a highway any bottle or receptacle containing alcohol beverages 
if: (1) the bottle or receptacle has been opened; (2) the seal has been 
brokenjor (3) the contents of the bottle or receptacle have been 
partially removed. This prohibition does not apply if the bottle or 
receptacle is kept in the trunk of the vehicle or, if the vehicle has no 
trunk, in some other area of the vehicle not normally occupied by the 
driver or passengers. A utility compartment or glove compartment is 
considered to be within the area normally occupied by the driver and 
passengers. 

Current law specifies that these erohibitions do not apply to 
passengers in a limousine or in a motor bus Ls. 346.935, Stats:}. Under 
Act 105 (effective January 1, 1991), these prohibitions will not apply to 
passengers in a limousine if the vehicle is operated by a chauffeur 
holding a valid license and endorsements authorizing operation of the 
vehicle as provided in ch. 343, Stats. [the motor vehicle licensing 
chapter], and is in compliance with any local ordinance or regulation 
adopted under s. 349.24, Stats. [authority to license taxicab operators 
and taxicabs]. 

2. Penalty 

A person violating any of these prohibitions may be required to 
forfeit not more than $100 [so 346.95 (2m), Stats.]. However, under Act 
105, if the violation-,s-committed by a CMV operator, he or she will also 
be issued an lIout-of-service ll order for a 24-hour period [ss. 346.65 (2u) 
and 346.93, Stats.]. 

e 

• 

e· 
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PART VI 

SELECTED LAWS RELATING TO OWl IN OTHER STATES 

A number of other states have enacted penalties for and procedures 
,applicable to OWl and OWl-related offenses which are not found in current 
Wisconsin law. Examples of these are: 

A. YOUTHFUL DRUNK DRIVER VISITATION PROGRAM [California Vehicle Code, s. 
23145 et seq.] 

California law permits a court, to the extent that personnel and 
facilities are made available to the court/ to include a requirement for 
supervised visitation by a youthful drunk driver (i.e., in general, a 
person less than 21 years of age) to all, or any of the following: 

1. A trauma facility or a general acute care hospital which 
regularly receives victims of vehicle accidents, between the hours of 
10:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m. on a Friday or Saturday night to observe 
appropriate victims of vehicle accidents involving drinking drivers. 

2. A facility which cares for advanced alcoholics, such as a 
chemical dependency recovery hospital, to observe persons in the terminal 
stages of alcoholism or drug abuse. 

3. If approved by the county coroner, the county coroner's office or 
the county morgue to observe appropr'iate victims of vehicle accidents 
involving drinking drivers. 

1989 Senate Bill 172 (introduced by Senator Cowles and others; 
cosponsored by Representative Krusick and others), which failed to pass, 
would have created a similar law in Wisconsin. 

B. COST OF EMERGENCY RESPONSE s. 53150 et se. California Government 
Code 

California law makes a drunk driver responsible for the cost of an 
"emergency response" to an OWl "incident," including the cost of providing 
police, firefighting, rescue and emergency and medical services at the 
scene of the incident. 

1989 Senate Bill 306 (introduced by Senator Cowles and others; 
cosponsored by Representative Huelsman and others), which failed to pass, 
would have created a similar law in Wisconsin . 
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C. VEHICLE IMPOUNDMENT FOR OWl OFfENDERS s. 809.700 Ore on Vehicle 
Code 

Oregon law permits a court to order a motor vehicle impounded upon 
conviction for certain specified traffic offenses, including a second or 
subsequent conviction for OWl. The vehicle may be impounded for not more 
than 120 days from the conviction. 

1989 Senate Bill 370 (introduced by Senator Lorman and others; 
cosponsored by Representative Vergeront and others), which failed to pass, 
would have created a similar law in Wisconsin. 

Current Wisconsin law permits impoundment of a person's motor vehicle 
if the person is convicted of driving after suseension or revocation of 
his or her driver's license [so 343.44, Stats.J or if the person fails to 
eost security for past accidents under the financial responsibility law 
Ls. 344.14 (1m), Stats.]. 

D. VEHICLE FORFEITURE AND SALE FOR CERTAIN OWl OFFENDERS s. 20-28.2 Gen. 
Stats. of North Carolina 

• 

North Carolina law provides for the forfeiture of a motor vehicle to 
the state under circumstances where the person driving the vehicle: (1) 
is convicted of OWl (referred to as "impaired driving"); and (2) has, at • 
the time of the OWl offense, had his or her license revoked for a previous 
OWl violation. The judge at sentencing must hold a hearing to determine 
if the vehicie should be forfeited. At the hearing, the judge may order 
the forfeiture if he or she finds that: (1) the vehicle is subject to 
forfeiture; (2) the vehicle is not primarily used by a member of the 
defendant's family or household for a business purpose or for driving to 
and from work or school; and (3) all potential innocent parties (e.g., 
persons with security interests in the vehicle) have been notified no 
party has shown that he or she is an innocent party. 

In any case in which a judge does not order the forfeiture or a 
vehicle subject to forfeiture, he or she must enter into the record 
detailed, written reasons for his or her decision. 

If the judge orders forfeiture of the vehicle, he or she must order 
the sale of the vehicle. Proceeds of the sale must be paid to the school 
fund of the county in which the property was seized. 

1989 Senate Bill 466 (introduced by Senators Risser and Chilsen), 
which failed to pass, would have created a similar law in the Wisconsin. 

•• 
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Laws in Michigan, Oregon and a number of other states permit the 
court to order that a convicted drunk driver's restricted license (i.e., 
occupational license) include the requirement that the driver not operate 
a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is equipped with a functioning 
certified ignition interlock device. These devices are set to render the 
motor vehicle inoperable if the device detects a certain percentage by 
weight of alcohol in the blood of the person who offers a breath sample 
into the device. The court may order installation of an ignition 
interlock device on any motor vehicle that the person owns or operates, 
with the cost of installation to be borne by the person who~e license is 
restricted. 

1989 Assembly Bill 559 (introduced by Representative Foti and 
others), which failed to pass, would have created a similar law ;n 
Wisconsin. 

F. STRICT OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE LIMITS [so 28.15.181, Alaska Stats.] 

Under Alaska law, the court may grant IIlimited license privileges ll 

(i.e., occupational licenses) as follows: 

1. First offense OWl within 10-year period: The court must revoke 
the offender's 'I i cense for II not 1 ess than 90 days II (no max imum is 
specified) and may grant limited license privileges for the IIfinal 60 days 
during which the license ;s revoked II (i.e., except where the court imposes 
a revocation longer than 90 days, after the first 30 days). 

2. First offense refusal to take a chemical test under the implied 
consent law within 10-year period: The court must revoke the offender's 
license for "not less than 90 days" (no maximum is specified) and may not 
grant limited license privileges. 

3. Second offense OWl or refusal within la-year period: The court 
must revoke the offender'S license for not less than one year and may not 
grant limited license privileges. 

4. Third or subsequent OWl or refusal within la-year period: The 
court must revoke the offender'S license for not less than 10 years and 
may not grant limited license privileges. 

The waiting periods for occupational licenses for OWl and OWl-related 
offenses in Wisconsin are set forth in Tables I and II, attached. 

DLS:kja:jaj:ksm;kja 
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COHVICTION 

OWl, first offense* 

OWl, second Offense· 
Within 5-year period 

OWl, third offense* 
within 5-year period 

OWl. fourth offense 
within 5-year period 

OWl, fifth offense 
With In 5-yellr period 

Causing Injury while OWl 

• taus Ina great bodllY harm 
whlle OWl 

Homicide while OWl 

Absolute sobriety for drivers 
under age 19 

--first offense 

--Second offense within 12 
tIIOnths 

--Th Ird or subsequent offense 
within 12 months 

Dr1v lnll after revocat Ion or 
suspension, first offense 

Driving lifter revocation or 
sus~ensl0n, second offense 
'lilt In 5-year period 

Ddvlng after revocation or 
suspension, third offense 
within 5.year period 

DriVing after revocation or 
suspension, fourth offense 
with In 5-year period 

• Driving after revocation or 
suspension, fifth offense 
within 5-year P!lTlod 
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TABLE I 

PENALTIES AIW LICENSE SANCTIONS FOR OOTOR 
VEHICLE OWl AND OWl-RELATED OFFENSES AND FOR 

DRIVING AFTER REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION 

SUSPENSION OR 
FINE OR JAIL REVOCATION 

FORFEITURE OF LICENSE 

**$150 to $300 ·6 to 9 months 
forfeiture (plus 
S250 surcharge) 

suspension 

"S300 to $1,000 5 days to 12 to 18 months 
fine (plUS $250 6 months ja 11 revocation 
surcharge) 

·*S600 to $2,000 30 days to 24 to 36 months 
fine (plus S250 1 year jell revocation 
surcharae) 

**$600 to $2,000 60 days to 24 to 36 months 
fine (plus $250 1 year jail revocation 
surCharge) 

·*S600 to S2,OOO 6 months to 24 to 36 months 
One (plUS $250 
surchage) 

1 year jal1 revocation 

·*S300 to $2,000 30 days to 1 to 2 years 
fine (plUS S250 1 year jall revocation 
surcharge) 

Up to $10,000 Up to 2 years 2 years revocation 
fine (plus S250 llIIJlrlsonment 
surcharge) 

Up to $10,000 Up to 5 years 5 years revocation 
fine (p1us $250 Imprisonment 
surcharge) 

$10 forfeitUre 30 to 90 days 
suspension 

$10 forfeitUre 12 months 
suspension 

$10 forfeiture 24 months 
revocation 

**$150 to $600 6 mnths 
forfeiture revocation 

**$300 to $1,000 10 days to 6 6 IIlOnths 
fine months jan revocation 

·"$1,000 to $2,000 30 days to 9 6 months 
flne months ja 11 revocatlon 

·"$1.500 to $2,000 60 days to 1 6 months 
fine yellr jan revocation 

**$2,000 to $2,500 6 IIlOnths to 1 6 months 
fine ye~r ja1l revocation 

( ATTACHMENT ) 

ASSESSMENT FOR POIlITS ON 
OCCUPATIONAL ALCOHOL OR DRIVER'S 

LICENSE DRUG PROBLEMS RECORD 

Irrmedlately Yes 6 

After 60 days Yes 6 

After 90 days' Yes 6 

After 90 days Yes 6 

After 90 days Yes 6 

Atter 60 days Yes 6 

After 120 days Yes 0 

After 120 days Yes 0 

Irrmed iate ly No 0 

Irrmed late ly No 0 

Irrmed late ly No 0 

After 15 days 6 

After 15 d6Ys 6 

After 15 days 6 

After 15 days 6 

After 15 days 6 
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SUSPENSION OR ASSESSMENT FOR 
CONVICTION FINE OR JAIL REVOCATION OCCUPATIONAL ALCOHOL OR 

FORFEITURE OF LICENSE LICENSE DRUG PROBLEMS 

Chemica 1 test refusa 1, first 12 months After 30 days Yes 
offense revocation 

Chemical test refusa 1, second 24 months After 90 days Yes 
offense within 5-year period revocation 

Chemical test refusal, third 36 months After 120 days Yes 
offense within 5-year period revocation 

BAC at or over .10% 6 months IlIIIIedlately 
(Administrat Ive SuspenSion suspension 
Law) (administrative) 

·Court nlaY order cOlll1lunity service to reduce the amount of a fine or forfeiture. Hay also order restitution as part of penalty. 

·-Vlolator also subject, If applicable, to penalty assessment, crime victim and witness surcharge, restitution surcharge, 'jail 
assessment and court automation fee. [See Part II, A, 7 In this Memorandum.] 

• 
POINTS ON 

I DRIVER'S 
RECORD 

• 

•• 
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TABLE II 

PENALTIES FOR 
ATV, BOAT AND SNOWMOBILE OWl VIOLATIONS 

CONVICTION FINE OR JAIL 
FORFEITURE 

ATV. boat or snowmobile *$150 to $300 
OWl, fir~~ offense or forfeiture 
refusal 

ATV, boat or snowmobile *$300 to $1,000 5 days to 
OWl, second offense or fine 6 IOOnths 
refusal within 5-year jail 
period 

ATV, boat or snowmobile *$600 to $2,000 30 days to 
OWl, third or subsequent 
offense or refusal 

fine 1 year 

within 5-year period 

Causing injury while OWl *$300 to $2,000 30 days to 
(ATV, boat or snowmobile) fine 1 year in 

county jail 

Homicide or causing See ** below See ** below 
great bodily harm while 
DWI* 

Absolute sobriety for Forfeiture of 
operators under aJe 19 not IOOre than $50 
{snowmobiles only 

~ ATTACHMENT ~ 

ASSESSMENT FOR 
ALCOHOL OR 

DRUG PROBLEMS 

Yes 

Yes 

Yes 

Yes 

See ** below 

*Violator also subject. if applicable, to penalty assessment, crime victim and 
witness surcharge, restitution surcharge, jail assessment and court automation 
fee [see Part II, A. 7 in this Memorandum.] 

**Provisions for causing great bodily harm or death by ATV/boat/snowmobile OWl 
are not included in this Table, because the term "vehicle" in ss. 940.09 and 
940.25. Stats., includes ATV's, boats and snowmobiles and the penalties in those 
statutes. as set forth 1n Table I. apply to those offenses • 
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( ATTACHMENT) 

Section ~85.235, Stats. 

885.235 CHEMICAL TESTS FOR INTOXICATION. (1) In any action or 
proceeding in which it is material to prove that a person was under the 
influence of an intoxicant or had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.1% or 
more while operating or driving a motor vehicle, while operating a 
motorboat, except a sailboat operating under sail alone, while operating a 
snowmobile, while operating an all-terrain vehicle or while handling a 
firearm, evidence of the amount of alcohol in the person's blood at the 
time in question, as shown by chemical analysis of a sample of the 
person's blood or urine or evidence of the amount of alcohol in the 
person's breath, is admissible on the issue of whether he or she was under 
the influence of an intoxicant or had a blood alcohol concentration of 
0.1% or more if the sample was taken within 3 hours after the event to be 
proved. The chemical analysis shall be given effect as follows without 
requiring any expert testimony as to its effect: 

(a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2, the fact that the analysis 
shows that there was 0.05% or less by weight of alcohol in the person's 
blood or 0.05 grams of alcohol or less ;n 210 liters of the person's 
breath is prima facie evidence that the person was not under the influence 
of an intoxicant and did not have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.1% or 
more. 

2. The fact that the analysis shows that there was more than 0.0% but 
less than 0.1% by weight of alcohol in the person's blood or more than 0.0 
grams but less than 0.1 grams of a lcoho 1 in 210 1 iters of the p6Jrson IS 

breath is relevant evidence on the issue of being under the combined 
influence of alcohol and a controlled substance or any other drug but ;s 
not to be given any prima facie effect. 

(b) The fact that the analysis shows that there was more than 0.05% 
but less than 0.1% by weight of alcohol in the person's blood or more than 
0.05 grams but less than 0.1 grams of alcohol in 210 liters of the 
person's breath is relevant evidence on the issue of intoxication or blood 
alcohol concentration of 0.1% or more but is not to be given any prima 
facie effect. 

(c) The fact that the analysis shows that there was 0.1% or more by 
weight of alcohol in the person's blood or 0.1 grams or more of alcohol in 
210 liters of the person's breath is prima facie evidence that he or she 
was under the influence of an intoxicant and is prima facie evidence that 
he or she had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.1% or more. 

(1m) In any action under s. 23.33 (4c) (a) 3, 346.63 (2m) or 350.101 
(1) (c), evidence of the amount of alcohol in the person's blood at the 
time in question, as shown by chemical analysis of a sample of the 
person's blood or urine or evidence of the amount of alcohol in the 
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person's breath, is admissible on the issue of whether he or she had a 
blood alcohol concentration in the range specified in s. 23.33 (4c) (a) 3, 
346.63 (2m) or 350.101 (1) (c) if the sample was taken within 3 hours 
after the event to be proved. The fact that the analysis shows that there 
was more than 0.0% but not more than 0.1% by weight of alcohol in the 
person's blood or more than 0.0 grams but not more than 0.1 grams of 
alcohol in 210 liters of the person's breath is prima facie evidence that 
the person had a blood alcohol concentration ;n the range specified in s. 
23.33 (4c) (a) 3, 346.63 (2m) or 350.101 (1) (c). 

(2) The concentration of alcohol in the blood shall be taken prima 
facie to be three-fourths of the concentration of alcohol in the urine. 

(3) If the sample of breath, blood or urine was not taken within 3 
hours after the event to be proved, evidence of the amount of alcohol in 
the person's blood or breath as shown by the chemical analysis is 
admissible only if expert testimony establishes its probative value and 
may be given prima facie effect only if the effect is established by 
expert testimony. 

• 

(4) The provisions of this section relating to the admissibility of 
chemical tests for intoxication or blood alcohol concentration shall not 
be construed as limiting the introduction of any other competent evidence 
bearing on the question of whether or not a person was under the influence 
of an intoxicant, had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.1% or more or had • 
a blood alcohol concentration in the range specified in s. 346.63 (2m). 

(5) In this section: 

(a) IIBlood alcohol concentration of 0.1% or more ll means a blood 
alcohol concentration of 0.1% or more by weight of alcohol in a person's 
blood or 0.1 grams or more of alcohol in 210 liters of a person's breath. 

(4). 
(b) IIControlled substance II has the meaning specified in s. 161.01 

(c) IIDrug" has the meaning specified in s. 450.01 (1O). 

.' 




