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Topical Summary of Victims Rights Legislation 

Financial Assistance for Victims 

Reparations. A person who has been the victim of a crime in Minnesota and who has 
suffered economic loss as a direct result of injury or death, may apply for and receive 
reparations from the state. Additionally, Minnesota residents who are victimized by crime 
outside of Minnesota' are eligible for reparations from this state if the jurisdiction where the 
crime occurred does not have a reparations law covering the resident's injury or death. The 
victim is eligible for reparations regardless of whether or not the perpetrator is prosecuted 
for the crime. However, a victim is not eligible for reparations if the victim was an 
accomplice of the offender or was in the process of committing a criminal act at the time of 
the injury. 

In most cases, the crime must have been reported to the police within 30 days of its 
occurrence and the reparations claim must have been filed within !\:yo years of the victim's 
injury or death. -

The types of economic loss for which reparations may be paid are: 

~ medical and hospital expenses 

~ recreational therapy associated with the loss of a limb 

~ expenses incurred for necessary psychiatric or psyctiologicai services, up to a 
maximum li~it set by the board 

.. loss of income 

~ , expenses incurred for necessary child care or household services 

~ funeral, burial or cremation expenses 

~ loss of support 

~ reasonable costs incurred to return a child victim of kidnapping or abduction home. 

The victim must pay the first $50 of economic loss, and the maximum amount of 
reparations that may be paid to an individual is $50,000. Claims are submitted to the 
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Crime Victims Reparations Board whose staff reviews them individually and decides the 
amount of reparations to which the victim. is entitled. A claimant who disputes the amount 
of reparations awarded may ask the entire board to reconsider the staff s decision and the 
board, upon reconsideration, may affirm, reverse,' or modify the prior ruling. A claimant 
who is denied reparations upon reconsideration may appeal the decision under the 
Administrative Procedures Act. The board receives funding for reparations from a number 
of sources, including the state general fund, payments made under the "Son of Sam" law 
(see below), and penalty assessments or surcharges imposed on federal crimes. Minn. Stat. 
§§611A.51 to' 611A.67. 

Restitution. Under Minnesota law, a sentencing judge may stay execution or imposition 
of sentence and place the defendant on probation under such conditions as the judge may 
prescribe. One of these conditions of probation can be the payment of restitution. Indeed, 
if the defendant is not ordered to serve jail-time as a condition of probation, the statute 
directs the sentencing judge to order a noninstitutional sanction, such as the payment of 
restitution, where practicable. Minn. Stat. §609.135. Payment of restitution may also be 
ordered in cases where sentence is imposed and executed. Minn. Stat. § § 609.10 and 
609.125. 

Under the Crime Victims Bill of Rights, every victim of crime, including victims of 
juvenile offenders and corporations that incur loss or harm as a result of a crime, has the 
right to receive court-ordered restitution as part of the disposition of a criminal charge or 
juvenile delinquency proceeding. The Crime Victims Reparations Board also may seek 
restitution on behalf of a reparations claimant. The restitution request must itemize the 
amounts claimed and the reasons justifying these amounts. If an offender intends to 
challenge these restitution amounts, he or she must produce detailed evidence in affidavit 
form of the basis for the challenge. If the court orders the payment of restitution, it must 
include a payment schedule or structure in the order. If the court orders partial restitution, 
it must also specify the full amount of restitution. that may be docketed as a civil judgment. 
If the court denies restitution, it must state on the record its reasons for doing so. The court 
may not use an actual or prospective civil action or a docketed civil judgment as a basis for 
denying restitution. Minn. Stat. §§611A.04 and 611A.045. 

If restitution is ordered but not paid, the victim may seek enforcement of the order" in the 
same manner as he or she would seek enforcement of a civil judgment. Filing fees for 
docketing an order of restitution as a, civil judgment are waived for any victim named in the 
restitution order. Restitution may also be collected from the om~nder' s prison wages, tax 
refund, 'or cash bail deposit, if any. In addition, if restitution was ordered as a condition of 
probation, the court may revoke probation for failure to pay, and sentence the offender to 
prison or payment of a fine. 
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Legislation enacted in 1989 permits probation officers to seek a probation review 
hearing if restitution is not paid in accordance with the payment schedule or 
structure in the restitution order. 

Legislation enacted in 1986 and 1987 requires probation officers to seek a probation 
review hearing if restitution has not been paid by an adult or juvenile offender 60 
days pdor to the expiration of probation. 

Legislation enacted in 1991 authorizes courts to extend an offender's probation 
period for up to one year if the court finds at a probation review hearing that the 
offender has failed to pay court-ordered restitution in accordance with the payment 
schedule and that it is unlikely that the offender will satisfy the restitution obligation 
before probation expires. This one-year extension may be renewed once if the same 
circumstances are present one year later. 

Minn. Stat. §§609'.135, subdivision 1a and 260.185, subdivision 3a. 

The law also requires clerks of court to keep tra,?k of the amount of restitution. ordered in 
each case, any changes to the restitution order, and the amount of restitution actually paid 
by the offender, and to forward the data to the state court administrator. The reason for 
this provision is to gather statistics on the degree to which _victims are, in fact, being 
compensated for economic injury by means of restitution payments. Laws 1986, chapter 
463, §10. 

Finally, the financial assets of accused felons may be attached and frozen if $10,000 or 
more allegedly has been lost as 'a result of the crime and an attachment order is necessary 
to ensure eventual restitution to victims of the crime. Minn. Stat. §609.532. 

"Son of Sam" Law. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.68, colloquially known as the "Son 
of Sam" law, prohibits persons who have been convicted of a felony or found not guilty of 
a' felony by reason of insanity from profiting by exploiting the crime in the media or 
through the entertainment industry. Any person or organization that enters into a contract 
with a felony offender for the reenactment of or an interview about the crime must forward 
any money owed to the offender under the contract to the Minnesota Crime Victims 
Reparations Board. This prohibition applies for a ten-year period following the conviction 
or finding of not guilty by reason of insanity or, if the offender is imprisoned, for ten years 
after the offender's release. The board is authorized tq disburse contract proceeds for the 
following purposes: 

... it may reimburse itself for any reparations award previously made to the victim of 
th~ offender~ s crime; 
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it may allocate up to ten percent of the proceeds for the benefit of the offender's 
minor dependent children if it can be shown that the funds will not be used in a way 
that benefits the offender; 

it may make reparations payments to the victim of the offender's crime including, 
where needed, reparations for pain and suffering and reparations in excess of the 
$50,000 maximum limit contained in the reparations act; and 

if any money remains after these claims are paid, or if no claims are made against 
the proceeds within five years of the date on which the board receive.d them, the 
board may use the proceeds to pay reparations to victims of other crimes. 

Moreover, if ordered by a court the board must pay from the ,offender's account reasonable 
legal expenses related the offender's appeal of the felony conviction or, defense against a 
victim's claim for reparations. It is a gross misd~mean.or to willfully fail to notify the 
board of the existence of a contract covered by the "Son of Sam" law, and it is a 
misdemeanor to take any other action to defeat the operation of the statute. 

The constitutionality of Minnesota's "Son of Sam" law has been called into question by the 
U.S. Supreme Court's recent decision in Simon & Schuster, Inc. v. Members of the New 
York State Crime Victims Board, _ U.S. _, 112 S. Ct.-SOl (1991). In that case, the 
Court held that New York's "Son of Sam" law was overbroad and violated free expression 
rights under the First Amendment for two reasons: (1) it covers all works concerning the 
criminal activity of the author, whether or not the author was convicted or even accused of 
any crime; and (2) it applies to any work by an offender on any subject as long as the work 
includes some thought or recollection by the author concerning his or her crime. 

Because Minnesota's law is limited to felony offenders who have been convicted or found 
not guilty by reason of insanity, it does not share the first defect of the New York law. 
However, Minnesota's law may be vulnerable to constitutional attack for the second reason 
cited by the Court, because it applies not only to a reenactment of the felony offender's 
crime, but also to works containing "the expression of the offender's thoughts, feelings, 
opinions, or emotions about the crime". Minn. Stat. §61lA.68, subdivision 1, paragraph 
(a)~ 

Protection of Victims From Harm or Harassment 

Tampering with a Witness. It is unlawful to use force, t4reats, or coercion to prevent or 
dissuade all0ther person from being a witness in any legal proceeding. or from reporting a 
crime to the police. It is also unlawful to coerce a witness into testifying. falsely at a legal 
proceeding or providing false information to law' enforcement authorities or to retaliate or 
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• threaten to retaliate against a witness for the witness's testimony or report. The criminal 
penalty for these offenses is either a five-year felony or a gross misdemeanor, depending on 
the degree of force used or attempted. Minn. Stat. §609.498. 

• 

Privacy of Name or Address. A crime victim or witness who testifies in court 
proceedings may not be compelled to state his or her home. or business address on the 
record in open court unless the court finds that ~e testimony would be relevant evidence. 
Minn. Stat. §611A.035. 

Similarly, Minnesota . law allows motor vehicle owners, driver's license holders and 
Minnesota ID card holders to request that the Commissioner of Public Safety not release 
their residence addresses to the public. Motor vehicle owners also may ask the 
commissioner not to release their names to the pUblic. The commissioner must grant the 
request if the individual states in writing that keeping this information private is needed to 
protect the safety of the individual or the individual's family. If the residence address is 
"shielded" under this provision, the individual must provide a substitute mailing address for 
the commissioner to use in any documents and notices relating to the motor vehicle, 
driver's license, or ID card. The individual's residence address or, where applicable, name 
will remain available to law enforcement agencies. Minn. Stat. §§168.346 and 171.12, 
subdivision 7. 

Separate Waiting Area. If possible, courts must provide victims with a waiting area 
during court proceedings that is separate from the waiting area used by the defendant, 
defense witnesses, and the defendant's relatives. If a separate waiting area is not feasible, 
the court must provide other safeguards, such as increased bailiff surveillance and escort 
services, to minimize the victim's contact with st,lch people during court proceedings. 
Minn. Stat. §611A.034. 

Employer Retaliation. Employers are prohibited from discharging, disciplining, or 
threatening to discharge or discipline an employee because the employee has been 
subpoenaed or requested to testify in court. This protection applies to all witnesses, 
whether or not the individual is. a victim of a crime or a witness to it. An employer who 
violates this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be punished for contempt of 
cpurt. The court must also order the employer to offer job reinstatement to the employee 
and to pay back wages, as appropriate. Minn. Stat. §611A.036. 

Harassment Crimes. Minnesota law provides gross misdemeanor and felony penalties for 
various types of harassing conduct. "Harass", is defined. to mean engaging in "intentional 
conduct in a manner that would cause a reasonable person under the circumstances to feel 

• oppressed, . persecuted, or intimidated and that· does cause such a react~on on the part of the 
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victim" .. Gross misdemeanor harassment crimes include making threats, stalking or 
pursuing another, returning to the property of another without claim of right to the property 
or consent, making repeated phone calls or inducing a victim to make phone calls; making 
someone's telephone repeatedly ring; repeatedly mailing or delivering objects to a person; 
or any other harassing conduct that interferes with another person or intrudes on that 
person's privacy or liberty. Felony penalties apply to persons who commit repeat violations 
of the harassment laws; commit certain "aggravated" harassment crimes, such as engaging 
in harassing conduct in order to tamper with a juror or judicial proceeding or retaliate 
against a judicial officer or attorney in connection with a judicial proceeding; or engage in a 
pattern of harassment that is directed at an individual person or household and that causes 
the victim to feel terrorized or fear bodily harm. Minn. Stat. §609.749. 

Harassment Restraining Order. Victims of harassment may seek and obtain civil relief 
from harassment under the harassment restraining order law. "Harassment" is defined in 

. this law to include: (1) repeated, intrusive or unwanted acts" words, or gestures which are 
intended to adversely affect the safety, security, or privacy of another, regardless of the 
relationship between the parties; (2) repeated "targeted residential picketing" directed solely 
at a particular residence which either interferes with the occupant's ingress or egress, or 
otherwise adversely affects the occupant's safety, security, or privacy; and (3) engaging in a 
pattern of attending public events after being notified that tlle actor's presence is harassing 
to another. The restraining order issued by the court may require the respondent to cease 
the harassing conduct or to have no contact with the petitioner for up to two years. 
Violation of the restraining order is punishable as a misdemeanor; certain repeat violations 
are punishable as a gross misdemeanor. Minn. Stat. §609.748. 

Training on Harassment Crimes. Three separate statutory provisions require professional 
training on harassment crimes. These laws require the supreme court to provide training to 
district court judges; the Peace Officers Standards and Training Board to provide training to 
peace officers; and Ole County Attorneys Association, in conjUnction with the 'attorney . 
general's office, to provide training to city and county attorneys. Minn. Stat. §§480.30; 
626:8451, subd. la; and Laws 19~3, chapter 326, article 2, §32. 

Victim Notification Provisions 

N.otice of Victims' Rights. The Crime Victim and Witness Advisory Council has the 
responsibility to develop two model notices of crime victims' rights. The initial notice 
must be distributed by peace officers to victims at the time of initial contact with the 
victim. This notice must inform victims of: (1) their right to apply for reparations; (2) their 
right to request that data disclosing their identity be kept private; (3) the nearest crime 
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victim assistance program or resource; (4) their right to participate in the criminal justice 
process and to request restitution; and (5) if the victim is a victim of .domestic abuse, the 
right to receive notice of the defendant's pretrial release and upcoming court dates. The 
supplemental notice must be distributed by prosecutors within a reasonable time after 
charges are filed, informing victims of all their rights under the victim rights laws, 
including the right to request restitution, the right to be notified of plea negotiations, the 
right to be present at the sentencing hearing and to object orally or in writing to a proposed 
plea ag~eement or disposition, and the right to be notified of the final case disposition. 
Minn. Stat. §611A.02, subd. 2. Additionally, the 1994 Legislature directed the Council to 
develop a separate notice of the rights of crime victims in juvenile court. Minn. Stat. 
§611A.02, subd. 3. 

Higher Education Institution Sexual Harassment and Violence Policy. Higher 
education institutions are mandated (and the University of Minnesota is requested) to adopt 
sexual harassment and violence policies that, among other things, inform victims of their 
rights under the state crime victims bill of rights law. The school's policy must apply to 
criminal incidents occurring on school property and involving a student or employee of the 
school. The policy must also, at a minimum, include the following provisions relating to 
sexual assault cases: filing criminal charges with locd law enforcement officials; obtaining 
the prompt assistance of campus authorities in notifying appropriate Jaw enforcement and 
disciplinary authorities of a sexual assault incident; investigation and resolution of a 
complaint by campus disciplinary authorities; the victim's participation in and the presence 
of the victim's attorney or other support person at any campus disciplinary proceeding 
concerning the complaint; notice to the victim of the outcome of the proceeding, consistent 
with data practices laws; assistance of campus authorities, at the direction of law 
enforcement authorities, in obtaining and maintaining evidence and relevant materials in 
connection with the incident; and assistance with measures designed to shield the victim 
from unwanted contact with the alleged assailant. Minn. Stat. §135A.15. 

Notice of Right to Keep Id~ntity Confidential. A crime victim or witness has the right to 
ask a law enforcement agency to withhold public access to public information in the 
agency's records relating to the victim's or witness's identity. The agency may do so if it 
reasonably determines that revealing the victim's or witness's identity would threaten that 
person's personal safety or property. Miml. Stat. §§13.82, subd. 10 and 611A.021. 

Notice 'of Decision not to Prosecute Domestic Assault or Harassment. Prosecutors must 
make reasonable efforts to notify a domestic assault or harassment victim by telephone or 
by mail of a dedsion to decline prosecution of the case or to dismiss charges. If the 
suspect is still. in custody, the notification attempt must be made before the suspect is 
released. Additionally, prosecutors who dismiss domestic assault or harassment charges 

• must state the specific reasons for the dismissal on the record. If the dismissal was due to 
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• witness unavailability, the prosecutor must indicate the specific reason why the witness is 
unavailable. Finally, the prosecutor must inform the victim of the availability of alternative 
avenues of civil relief (Le. restraining or protective ord~rs). Minn. Stat. §611A.0315. 

• 

Notice of Plea Bargain Agreements. Prosecuting attorneys must make a good faith effort 
to inform crime victims of the contents of plea bargain agreements before presenting the 
plea agreement to the court. The prosecutor also must inform the victim of his or her right 
to be present at the sentencing hearing to express in writing any objections the victim may 
have to the proposed disposition. If the victim is not present at the hearing but has 
communicated these objections to the prosecutor, the prosecutor shall communicate the 
objections to the court. Minn. Stat. §611A.03. 

Notice of Change in Court Schedule. Prosecutors must make reasonable efforts to 
provide advance notice of any change in the court's proceedings to any victim who has 
been subpoenaed or requested to testify. Minn. Stat. §611A.033. 

Notice of Rights at Sentencing. A probation officer conducting a presentence 
investigation of a convicted person must notify the victim of the following events and 
victim rights related to the sentencing hearing: 

.. the charge of which the defendant has been convicted or to which he or she has pled 
guilty; 

.. the victim's right to request restitution; 

~ t4e time and place of the sentencing hearing and the victim's right to be present at 
it; and 

.. ' the victim's right to object in writing to the proposed disposition prior to the time of 
sentencing. 

Minn. Stat. §61lA.037. 

Notice of Final Case Disposition. Prosecutors must make a reasonable and good faith 
effort to provide identifiable crime victims with a written or oral notice of the final 
disposition of the case within 15 working 'days after conviction, acquittal, or dismissal. 

. However, if the prosecutor contacts the crime victim in advance of final case disposition 
and notifies the victim of the victim's right to receive this information, the prosecutor only 
has to notify those victims who indicate in advance their desire to be notified of the final 

• disposition. Minn. Stat. §611A.039. 

---------- ---
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Notice of Offender Release from Confinement. The Commissioner of Corrections or 
other custodial authority must make a good faith effort to notify the victim, on request, that 
an adult or juvenile offender is to be: 

~ released from imprisonment or incarceration, including release on work release or 
extended furlough; 

released from a facility in which the offender was confined due to incompetency, 
mental illness or deficiency, or civil commitment as mentally ill and dangerous; or 

... ~educed to a lower custody status. 

The notice given to a victim of a felony crime against the person must. occur 60 days before 
the offender's release, transfer, or change to minimum security status if the offender was 
sentenced to prison for more than 18 months. The notice given to a victim of any crime 
against the person must also include the conditions governing the offender's release and 
either the identity of the supervising corrections agent or a means to identify the 
supervising court services agency. All identifying information about the victim, including 
the victim's request for the notice and the notice of release are clas.sified as private data 
under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act. Minn. Stat. §611A.06. 

Additionally, custodial authorities must notify victims of harassment, domestic assault and 
sexual assault when the alleged offender is released from pretrial detention. This notice 
must inform the victim of the conditions of release and of the time and place of the next 
scheduled court hearing. Minn. Stat. §§629.72 and 629.73. 

Notice of Right to Request Notice of Release. In every case in which the~e is an 
identifiable crime victim, the court must make reasonable efforts at the time of sentencing 
or disposition to inform the victim of the right to request notice of the offender's release 
from confinement. If the victim'is a minor, this notice must be given to the minor's parent 
or guardian. Minn. Stat. §611A.0385. 

Notice of Escape. The Commissioner of Corrections or other custodial authority must 
make all reasonable efforts to notify a victim if an offender escapes from imprisonment ,or 
confinement. This notice must be given to any victim who has previously requested notice 
of the offender's release and must occur within six hours after the escape was discovered. 
The victim must also be notified within 24 hours after the offender is apprehended. Minn. 
Stat. §611A.06, subd. 3. 
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Notice Concerning Sexually Transmitted Diseases. Minnesota law requires hospitals to 
give sexual assfmlt crime victims whom they treat information about sexually transmitted 
diseases. This notice must inform the victim of the risk of contracting sexually transmitted 
diseases as a result of the sexual assault, the symptoms of these diseases, recommendations 
for periodic testing, where appropriate, and locations where confidential testing is done. 
Mi~l. Stat. §611A.20. . 

Notice Concerning HIV Testing of Convicted Offender. A victim may get a court order 
requiring a convicted violent crime offender or an adjudicated juvenile sex offender to have 
an HIV test and to release the results to the victim. Minn. Stat. §611 A.19. Sexual assault 
counselors and others must notify victims of this right. Minn. Stat. §611A.20, subd. 2. 
Insurers may not use a test administered under section 611 A.19 or any HIV test conducted 
on a crime victim to make an underwriting decision, and may not ask a victim or offender 
if they have had such a test. Minn. Stat. §72A.20, subdivision 29. 

Notice to Victims of Motor Vehicle Theft. Law enforcement agencies must make 
reasonable efforts to notify the victim of a reported vehicle theft within 48 hours after the 
vehicle is recovered. The notice must specify when the agency expects to release the 
vehicle and how the owner may pick it up. The law also requires dismissal of any traffic 
violation citation given to the owner of a stolen vehicle if the owner presents, by mail or in 
person, verification that the vehicle was stolen at the time of the violation. Minn. Stat. 
§169.042. 

Victim Participation in the Criminal Justice System 

Victim Input Regarding Pretrial Diversion. Prosecutors must make every reasonable 
effort to notify and seek input from the victim before referring persons accused of certain 
serious crimes into a pretrial diversion program in lieu of prosecution. Minn. Stat. 
§611A.031. 

Victim Input Regarding Plea Bargain Agreement. A victim has the right to express to 
the sentencing court in writing any objections he or she may have to the contents of a plea 
agreement that the prosecutor is presenting to the court. Minn. Stat. §§611A.03 and 
611A.038. 

Victim's Right to Request a Speedy Trial. A victim has the right to ask the prosecutor 
to make a 'speedy trial demand under the criminal procedure rules and. thereby cause the 

----------------------------------------------------
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• trial to hegin within 60 days. The prosecutor must make reasonable efforts to comply with 
the victim's request. Minn. Stat. §6llA.033. 

• 

• 

Right to the Presence of a Supportive Person at J?retrial Hearing or Trial. A minor 
who is a prosecuting witness in a criminal case involving assault or another violent crime 
may choose to be accompanied by a supportive person at the omnibus or pretrial hearing 
and at trial. Adult prosecuting witnesses in criminal sexual conduct cases likewise have the 
right to the presence of a supportive person at the omnibus or pretrial hearing. If the 
supportive person has also been called as a witness, the court may nonetheless permit him 
or her to be present if it finds that there is no substantial risk that the supportive person's 
later testimony will be influenced by his or her presence at the proceeding. Minn. Stat. 
§631.046. Crime victims who are testifying in juvenile delinquency' proceedings have a 
similar right to the presence of a supportive person; however, the supportive person may 
not also be a witness scheduled to testify in the proceedings. Minn. Stat. §260.l55, subd. 
lb. 

Victim Impact Statement in the Presentence Investigation Report. (PSI). Every 
presentence investigation report must contain a "victim impact statement" consisting of the 
following information: 

a summary of the damages or harm and any other problems generated by the 
criminal occurrence; 

a concise statement of what disposition the victim deems appropriate for the 
defendant, including the reasons given, if any, by the victim in support of his or her 
opinion; and 

an attachment to the report consisting of the victim's written objections, if any, to 
the proposed. disposition if these objp,ctions are given to the preparer of the report 
sufficiently in advance of the disposition. 

M~nn. Stat. §6llA.037. 

Neighborhood Impact Statement in Drug Cases. Persons who conduct presentence 
investigations . of defendants convicted of drug sale or' distribution felonies must make· 
reasonable efforts to include a·"neighborhood impact statement" in the presentence 
ilwestigation report. This neighborhood impact statement must describe any adverse social 
or economic effects the defendant's crime has had on persons who reside in the 
neighborhood where the crime was committed. Minn. Stat. §609.115, subd. 1. 
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• Victim's Right to Make a Statement at Sentencing. Victims have the right to submit an . 
impact statement to the court at the time of the sentencing or disposition hearing. The 
victim may choose whether to make the impact statement orally or in writing. If the victim 
requests, the prosecutor must present the statement orally to the court. The victim's 
statement may address the harm, trauma, or economic loss suffered by the victim as a result 
of the crime, and the victim's reaction to the proposed sentence or disposition. Minn. Stat. 
§611A.038. 

• 

• 

Victim's Right to Request Probation Review Hearing. Victims have the right to ask the 
offender's probation officer to request a probation review hearing if the offender fails to 
pay restitution as required in a restitution order. Minn. Stat. §611A.046. 

VictimlWitness Assistance Programs 

Sexual Assault Victim Programs. The Commissioner of Corrections must develop a 
statewide community-based program to aid victims of reported sexual attacks. The program 
may include but need not be limited to counseling and payment of otherwise unreimbursed 
medical expenses for treatment and examinations made necessary by the sexual attack. The 
commissioner is also directed to do the following: 

~ encourage county attorneys to assign prosecutors who are trained in sensitivity and 
understanding of victims of sexual attack; 

assist in the development of programs to provide training to peace officers in 
sensitivity and understanding of victims of sexual attack, and encourage the 
assignment of trained peace officers to question victims of sexual attack; and 

~ encourage hospital administrators to place a high priority on the expeditious 
treatment of victims of sexual attack, and to employ personnel trained in sensitivity 

. and understanding of such victims. 

In 1991, the legislature created a 12-member Sexual Assault Advisory Council, located 
within the Department of CQrrections, to advise the commissioner on the implementation 
and continued operation of the programs described above, to serve as a liaison between the 
commi~sioner and sexual assault services programs, and to serve· as an advocate for sexual 
assault victims within the department. Minn. Stat. §§611A.21 to 611A25. 

Battered Women's Programs. The Commissioner of Corrections may award grants to 
designated programs that provide emergency shelter services and support services to 
battered women and their children. The 12-member Battered Women Advisory Council, 
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located within the Department of Corrections, advises the commissioner on the award of 
these grants. Minn. Stat. §§611A.31 to 611A.36. 

General Crime Victim Programs. In 1991, the legislature created a 12-member General 
Crime Victim Advisory Council. This council is located within the Department of 
Corrections arid advises the commissioner on the implementation and continued operation 
of the crime victims laws with respect to victims of crimes other than sexual assault and 
domestic abuse. The council also serves as a liaison between the commissioner and crime 
victim services programs and as an advocate for general crime victims within the 
department. Minn. Stat. §611A.361. 

Crime Victim Crisis Centers. The Commissioner of Corrections must establish at least 
two operational crime victim crisis centers. The functions of the crisis centers include: 
direct crisis intervention, transportation of victims to needed emergency services, 
investigation· of available financial resources for individual victims, referral of victims to 
existing needed victim services, and other coordi~ating and educational activities. Minn. 
Stat. §§611A.41 to 611A.44. 

Crime Victim and Witness Advisory Council. . The 16-member Crime Victim and 
Witness Advisory Council is charged with centralizing oversight and advocacy services for 
victims at the statewide level. The council members are appointed by the Commissioner of 
Public Safety, in consultation with the Commissioner of Corrections, and include 
representatives from the legislature and the judiciary, as well as police officers, prosecutors, 
defense attorneys and crime victims. The council is responsible for: 

~ rvviewing the treatment of victims by the system and the need for victim services; 

~ advising other agencies in the coordination and allocation of federal funds for victim 
. assistance; 

~ monitoring and advocating for victim-related legislation; 

~ providing information, training and educational services; and 

~ assisting in the development of guidelines for ~d the delivery of victim services. 

The executive director of the council is also responsible for supervising the administration 
of the Crime Victims Reparations Act. Minn. Stat. §611A.71. 
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Crime Victim Ombudsman. The Crime. Victim Ombudsman is appointed by the 
Commissioner of Public Safety with the advice of the Crime Victim and Witness Advisory 
Council. The ombudsman's responsibility is to investigate possible violations of the rights 
of crime victims, the delivery of victims services, the administration of the reparations act, 
and complaints of mistreatment of victims by the criminal justice system. If the 
ombudsman finds that a complaint is valid, he or she may make recommendations based on 
that finding to the appropriate authorities. Minn. Stat. §§611A.72· to 611A.74. 

Penalty Assessments. Minnesota law imposes a penalty surcharge or asse~sment on all 
persons who are convicted of crimes other than parking or traffic offenses. The amount 
imposeq is either 20 percent of the offender's fine or, if there is no fine imposed, an 
amount between $25 and $50. Additionally, the court must assess the following ,surcharges 
on convicted offenders: (1) for a person originally charged with a felony: $25; (2) for a 
person originally charged with a gross misdemeanor: $15; (3) for a person originally 
charged with a misdemeanor: $10; and (4) for a'person originally charged with a local 
ordinance violation: $5. The penalty assessment or surcharge may not be waived by the 
court; however, the court may reduce it 'or order it to be paid in installments in cases of 
indigency or undue financial hardship. Moneys received by the courts must be forwarded 
to the state general fund. In past years, money gained from this source has been expended 
by the legislature for victim reparations, the Crime Victim ,and Witness Advisory Council, 
and to supplement federally-funded activities of the Crime Victim Ombudsman. Minn. Stat. 
§609.101, subd. 1. 

Minimum Fines. Sentencing courts must impose minimum fines of between $100 and 
$300, depending on the severity of the offense, on persons convicted of assault or sexual 
assault. The court must forward 70 percent of the minimum fine proceeds to local victim 
assistance programs and the remaining 30 percent to the state general fund., If there is no 
local victim assistance program, the court must forward all of the fme proceeds to the state 
general fund. Fine proceeds received by local victim assistance programs must be used to 
provide direct services to victims. Minn. Stat. §609 .191, subd. 2. 

Prison Wage Contributions. The Commissioner of Corrections may withhold up to 20 
percent of a prison inmate's gross wages for the purpose of contributing to programs 
established by law to aid victims of crime. Minn. Stat. §§241.26 and 243.23. 

Notice of Victims Services. The Commissioner of Corrections, in cooperation with the 
executive director of the Crime Victims Reparations Board, must develop a plan to provide 
victims with notice of those victim services that exist in the geographic area where the 
victim is located. Minn. Stat. §611A.02. 
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Crime Victim Services Hotline. The Department of Public Safety must establish and 
operate a 24-hour telephone line to provide referrals for crime victim services. Minn. Stat. 
§611A.76. 

CriJ;Ile Victim Mediation Programs. The state court administrator' may award grants to 
nonprofit organizations to create or expand mediation programs for crime victims and 
offenders. Eligibility is limited to The mediation of nonviolent crimes in which the victim 
was not a family or household member of the offender. Minn. Stat. §611A.77. 

Victims of "Bias Crimes" 

Reporting of Crimes Motivated by Bias. Every peace officer must file a report with the 
head of the officer's department whenever the peace officer has reason to believe that an 
offender was motivated to commit a crime because of the victim's race, religion, national 
origin, sex, age, disability, or characteristics identified as sexual orientation. The head of 
the law enforcement agency must file a monthly report with the Department of Public 
Safety's Bureau of Criminal Apprehension describing crimes reported under this law, and 
the Commissioner of Public Safety must file an annual report with the legislature and the 
Department of Human Rights summarizing the information Teceived. . The commissioner 
may include information in the annual report concerning any additional criminal activity . 
motivated by bias against a group that is not otherwise covered by the statute. Minn. Stat. 
§626.5531. 

Peace Officer Training on Bias Crimes. The 'Peace Officer Standards and Training 
(POST) Board must prepare a training course to assist officers in identifying and 
responding to bias crimes, and in accurately reporting them. The board must update the 
course periodically, as appropriate. The statute provides that an individual may' not be 
licensed as a peace officer unless the individual has received this training. 

Additionally, the POST Board must make instructional materials available to chief law 
enforcement officers for use by· existing peace officers' for continuing education credit. The 
board must also seek funding for an educational conference on bias crimes and, if funding 
is obtained, sponsor the conference on its own or with other public or private groups. 
Minn. Stat. §626.8451. 

Prosecutor Training on Bias Crimes. The attorney general's office, in conjunction . with 
other agencies, must create a prosecutor trairiing course' on bias-motivated crimes and must 
offer the course to prosecutors at least once a. year until 1994. The head of each 
prosecuting agency must maintain records on the number of prosecutors who have attended 
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• the cour~e and the number who have not, and must report this information to the attorney 
general annually. Minn. Stat. §8.34. 

• 

• 

Increased Criminal Penalties for Crimes Motivat.ed by Bias. The 1989 Legislature 
increased the criminal penalties for certain crimes if the crime was committed because of 
the victim's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability, age, 
or national origin. The criminal acts affected by the legislation include assault, criminal 
damage to property, and harassment. Minn. Stat. §§609.2231, subd. 4; 609.595, subds. la, 
2, and 3; and 609.749, subd. 3 . 
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Historical Summary of Victims Rights Legislation 
1974 - 1994 

The following is a chronological summary of victims rights legislation in Minnesota. 
Details of each law referred to in this section are presented more fully in the topical 
sections of this information brief. 

1974 The chronology of victims rights legislation in Minnesota began in 1974 with 
the enactment of the Crime Victims Reparations Act. ' This legislation offered 
financial compensation to p~rsons who were injured, killed, or otherwise' 
damaged by the criminal act of a third party. Financed by state 
appropriations, this act represented one of the first efforts by the state to offer 
direct aid to crime victims. It was also among the first expressions by the 
legislature of the notion that the state had a policy interest not only in the 
successful prosecution of criminal offenders, but also in the welfare of the 
offender's victim. The reparations act has been amended almost every year 
since 1974; however, the an1endments have been mail!ly to fine-tune the act's 
provisions, and it remains substantially in the same form as it was originally 
passed. In addition to the reparations act, the 1974 Legislature also created a 
new program to aid victims of sexual assault. 

1976 In 1976, the legislature made it a crime to tamper with a,witness or a 
potential witness to any legal proceeding. This crime prohibited the us~ of 
force, violence, or coercion to prevent or dissuade a witness from attending or 
testifying at any trial or other legal, proceeding. 

1977 The 1977 Legislature directed the Commissioner of Corrections to establish at 
least two "victim crisis centers" in the state. These centers were statutorily 
designed to offer direct services to crime victims as well as general ' 
educational functions in the geographic area. That year, the legislature also 
explicitly authorized sentencing judges to order convicted offenders to pay 
restitution to their victims as a condition of probat~on. 
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1979 In 1979, the legislature enacted a law prohibiting convicted felons from 
profiting commercially from their crimes. Known colloquially as the "Son of 
Sam" law, this legislation required persons who enter into contracts with 
convicted felons regarding the reenactmerit of the crime in movie, book, or 
other entertainment form, to forward the profits of the venture to the Crime 
Vict.ims Reparations Board for payment to the victim or victims of the 
offender's crime. 

1981 In 1981, the legislature passed a bill designed to provide funding for victims 
services from a new source: persons convicted of crimes other than traffic or 
parking violations. This legislation imposed a fine surcharge equal to ten 
percent of the person's fine or, if no fine was imposed, a penalty ass'essment 
of between $20 and $40., The surcharge or assessment could be waived by 
the sentencing judge under circumstances of indigency or undue hardship. 

1983 1983 was perhaps the most significant year for victims legislatiot;l in 
Minnesota since the passage of the Reparations Act in 1974. In 1983, the 
legislature enacted the so-called "Crime Victims Bill of Rights'~ which, among 
other things, provided crime victims with notice of certain events in the 
prosecution of the crime of which they were victimized, and provided them 
with certain limited rights of participation in that criminal process. The 
significance of this legislatjon lay primarily in the public policy that it 
expressed: namely, that a criminal prosecution is not solely a matter between 
the offender and the state, and that the victim, has a separate interest in the 
outcome which, though secondary to that of the state, is nonetheless publicly 
recognized. 

1984 The 1984 Legislature shifted its focus from vic~im involvement in the system 
back to victim compensation by enacting legislation expanding the authority 
of sentencing courts' to order the payment of restitution and expressing a 
preference for the· use of restitution and other types of noninstitutional 
sanctions in cases where incarceration is not ordered. 

1985 In 1985, the legislature further enhanced the usefulness of restitution orders 
by simplifying the procedure through which the victim may seek civil 
enforcement of the order in court. The legislature also authorized the 
Commissioner of Corrections and prison inmates to withhold up to 20 percent 
of earned prison wages for the purpose of funding victims services programs. 
Finally, in response to recommendations made by a Task Force on Crime 
Victims established by the attorney general, the legislature created a Crime 

---- ._-----
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1986 

1987 

Victim and Witness Advisory Council to centralize the oversight of victims 
programs, services and legislation in Minnesota and to advocate for any 
needed changes. The legislature also created a Crime Victim Ombudsman to 
investigate possible violations of the rights of individual crime victims or 
witnesses by the criminal justice system and to act as a liaison between the 
aggrieved victim or witness and the agency responsible for the complaint. 

The 1986 Legislature added a number of new rights to the Crime Victims Bill 
of Rights to further increase the ability of victims to participate in the 
criminal justice process and achieve satisfaction of restitution orders, and to 
minimize the potentially adverse effects of the victim's participation in the 
criminal prosecution. 

The 1987 Legislature made severai changes to the statutes governing victim 
restitution to broaden their coverage and further simplify their enforcement. 
The 1987 Legislature also' passed new laws designed to further safeguard the 
personal safety of victims. Third, the legislature enacted new measures to 
provide funding for victims services by means of criminal fine proceeds. 
And finally, the 1987 Legishiture specified that at least one member of the 
Sentencing Guidelines Commission must have been the victim of a felony~ 
level crime. 

1988 The 1988 Legislature passed a wide variety of crime victim laws. Three of 
these laws made fairly significant changes or additions to existing law. First, 
the legislature streamlined the p'rocess through which crime victims may 
make reparations claims under the "Son of Sam" law by repl~cing the judicial 
procedures with administrative ones. The law was also broadened to permit 
the use of "Son of Sam" contract proceeds for financial assistance for minor 
dependents of the offender and for paying reparations to victims of other 
offenders' crimes. Second, the legislature gave crime victims the right to 
describe their damages and their reaction to the offender's proposed sentence 
to the sentencing judge orally or in writing. And third, the legislature 
required law enforcement officials to file reports with the state on crimes 
believed to have been motivated ·by "bias" against the victim's race or oth.er 
group affiliation, and to receive training on the detection of and response to 
such bias crimes . 
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1989 In 1989, the legislature reworked the statutes relating to court-ordered 
restitution to provide clearer guidance to courts on the types of damages that 
are compensable through restitution orders and on the process by which 
compliance with these orders is attained. The 1989 Legislature also 
continued to address the issue of "bias" crimes by enhancing penalties for 
committing certain criminal acts when the act is motivated by bias against the 
victim's race or other group affiliation. 

1990 The 1990 Legislature made four noteworthy changes to the crime victims 
laws. First, it enhanced l.egal protections for victims of "harassment" by: 

1991 

(1) increasing criminal penalties for certain types of harassing conduct; 

(2) creating civil remedies to help victims protect themselves from 
harassment; and 

(3) increasing the ability of individuals to keep their identities confidential 
in certain government records. Second, it expanded the scope of the 
Crime Victims Reparations Act to cover certain losses and injuries that 
had previously been excluded from the act's c0verage. Third, it 
required hospitals to give sexual assault victims information regarding 
the risk and symptoms of sexually transmitted diseases and the 
availability of confidential testing for these diseases. And fmally, the 
1990 Legislature required prosecutors who dismiss domestic assault 
charges to state the specific reasons for the dismissal on the court 
record and, where the dismissal was due to witness unavailability, to 
state publicly the specific reason why the witness was unavailable. 

In 1991, the legislature amended the statutes governing court-ordered 
restitution to enable courts to extend an offender's probation period if the 
offender fails to pay the restitution in accordance with the payment schedule 
and it appears that the restitution will not be fully paid before probation 
expires. This extep.sion of probation may be for a one-year period and may 
be renewed once. The 1991 Legislature also amended the Crime Victims Bill 
of Rights to require prosecutors to make reasonable efforts to notify victims 
of final case dispositions and to require custodial authorities to notify victims, 
on request, if an offender either escapes from confinement, or is transferred to 
a correctional program with less security. Finally, the 1991 Legislature made 
numerous cnanges to the membership, structure and duties of the Battered 
Women's Advisory Council and created two new advisory councils within the 
Department of Corrections: one for victims of sexual assault and one for 
general crime victims. 
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1992 In 1992, the legislature made the following changes to the crime victim laws. 

1993 

1994 

First, it required higher education institutions to adopt sexual harassment and 
violence policies that inform victims of their rights under state law and that 
contain specific provisions relating to ,the investigation and resolution of 
sexual assault incidents occurring on school property and involving students 
or school employees. Second, it allowed sex crime victims to get a court 
order requiring convicted offenders to have an HIV test and to release the 
results to the victim. Other victim law changes enacted by the 1992 
Legislature include: (1) further streamlining of the court-ordered restitution 
process; (2) il1creasing the penalty assessment imposed oQ. all convicted 
offenders (other than traffic law offenders) from ten to 20 percent of the fine 
imposed; (3) authorizing grants for mediation progratris in cases involving 
nonviolent offenses; (4) creating a statewide 24-hour telephone hotline to 
provide referrals for crime victim services; and (5) permitting victims of 
juvenile offenders to have a supportive person present in the courtroom 
during the victim's testimony. 

The 1993 Legislature extensively revised and strengthened criminal and civil 
laws protecting victims of harassment. It alSQ made several changes to the 
crime victims laws, including the following: (1) requiring law enforcement 
agencies to make reasonable efforts to notify a motor vehicle theft victim that 
the vehicle has been recovered and how to pick it up; (2) requiring dismissal 
of any traffic ticket given to the owner of a stolen vehicle if it is shown that 
the vehicle was stolen at the time of the theft; (3) streamlining procedures for 
giving victims written notice of their rights; (4) waiving court fees for 
docketing a restitution order as a civil judgment; (5) expanding the si?:e of the 
Crime Victim and Witness Advisory Council. by one member; and (6)' 
allowing minor prosecuting witnesses to have ~ supportive perso,n in the 
courtroom during the witness's testimony in any criminal case involving Ii 
violent crime or ,an assault. 

In 1994, the legislature adjusted the crime victim laws in several ways. It 
expanded the law prohibiting employer retaliation against victim-witnesses to 
.include all witnesses. It expanded the law requiring notice to victims of an 
offender's release from confinement to 'include situations where an offender's 
custody status has been reduced. In addition, it required courts, at the time of 
sentencing or disposition, to notify victims of the right to request notice of 
the offender's release from confinement. The legislature strengthened 
victims' rights to restitution by prohibiting courts from denying restitution 
solely on the basis of an actual or prospective civil action or a docketed civil 
judgment, and by requiring offenders who challenge restitution amounts to 
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produce detailed evidence in affidavit form of the basis for the challenge. 
The legislature also expanded the right to request that an offender be tested 
for HIV to include all convicted violent crime offenders and adjudicated 
juvenile sex offenders. Finally, the legislature increased the fees and expense 
reimbursements paid to witnesses in court cases and expanded the time 
periods within which victims may apply for reparations as follows: crimes 
must be reported to the police within 30 days of occurrence instead of five; 
and reparations claims must be filed within two years of the victim's injury 
or death instead of one year. 
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5038 (voice); (612) 296-9896 or 1-800-657-3550 (TDD). 




