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State legislatures are again taking up crime and criminal sentencing in a big way in 1995. 
New sentencing enactments abound, especially those aimed at keeping violent and repeat 
offenders in prison longer. A new sentencing measure in Florida called "Stop Turning Out 
Prisoners" exemplifies the sentencing theme of more than a dozen states this year. Cracking 
down hard on offenders who victimize children is the other common chorus heard in new 
anti-crime laws in the states. New enactments will keep tabs on sex offenders, some with 
notification provisions that follow the much publicized "Megan's Law" adopted in New Jersey 
late last year. New York, with a supportive new governor, reinstated the death penalty, while 
a number of other states added capital crimes and aggravating circumstances to be considered 
in imposing a death sentence. 

" T r u t h "  and "Three Str ikes"  

"Truth in sentencing" has been an objective in many states taking up sentencing policy 
this year---even while variation is seen in how "truth" is defined as well as the numbers and 
types of offenders to whom it applies. By midyear, a new crop of state laws require that 85 
percent of a sentence be served. Those include: Connecticut, Florida, lllinois, Louisiana, 
Mississippi, New York, North Dakota, South Carolina and Tennessee. The 85 percent of 
sentence requirement applies broadly to those who commit serious, violent crimes in most of 
the states, while all prison inmates are affected in Florida and Mississippi. Offenders who 
commit serious or violent crimes in Arkansas will serve 70 percent of the sentence given. 
South Carolina created "no parole offenses" for which those convicted will serve 85 percent of 
their sentences, and at least 80 percent of the sentence must be completed before an inmate 
may qualify for work-release status. In Illinois, many offenders who commit serious or violent 
crimes will serve at least 85 percent, while the law also requires that all offenders imprisoned 
for first-degree murder are not eligible for release. Abolishing discretionary parole, earned- 
time credits in Mississippi are limited so as to require that prisoners serve at least 85 percent of 
their sentences and then be supervised in the community until expiration of the full term. The 
Iowa General Assembly also passed an 85 percent of sentence measure that applies to offend- 
ers convicted of a second, serious crime. The bill was vetoed by the governor, who opposed 
sections of the legislation that reduced some mandatory sentences for drug offenders. A new 
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law in South Dakota, with a different take on "truth," requires courts at sentencing to state the 
first date the offender will be eligible for parole; Maine similarly provides that the court specify 
the length of sentence to be served in legislation that also allows for life sentences for any 
crime lhat results in death or serious bodily injury. 

Some enactments balance long 
sentences for violent offenders 
with treatment or community 
sanctions for others. 

"Three strikes you're out" continues to be the call in states this year as well. At least nine 
states by midyear passed new laws to impose a long, often life sentence, sometimes without 
possibility of parole, for two-time or three-time, repeat offenders who commit violent crimes. 
New three strikes-type laws are seen in Arkansas, Florida, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, 
Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Utah and Vermont. In Arkansas, a new law requires long man- 
datory or life sentences for both two-time and three-time violent offenders. In Florida, three- 
time habitual felons can get from 10 years to life, and the most violent career criminals will 
serve 85 percent of a mandatory sentence, some serving life with no release eligibility. Mon- 
tana law makes clear that three-time violent offenders will serve life without possibility of 
parole and that the entire sentence will be served in a prison with no eligibility for work 
release or nonsecure detention. A new Pennsylvania measure provides long, fixed terms for 
second and subsequent first-, second- and third-degree felony offenses. South Carolina in its 
85 percent law also included a " two  strike" life without parole sentence for repeat offenders of 

serious or violent crimes. And three strikes-type laws have been around 
II long enough now for states to revise provisions. Virginia this year elimi- 

nated the old-age release possibility for three-time felony sex offenders 
and provides life imprisonment for two-time felony sex offenders. Loui- 
siana extended the time period over which "strikes" are counted, and 
Tennessee expanded the list of violent felonies under its "three strikes" 
provisions. 

Other states established extended or mandatory sentences for offenders who commit seri- 
ous crimes. Violent and repeat criminals in Indiana, Maine, Nebraska, Minnesota, Oregon, 
Rhode Island and Wisconsin will serve longer sentences as a result of legislation in 1995 to 
reduce good time, change parole eligibility or otherwise extend sentences for certain offend- 
ers. Sentencing with regard to crimes committed with weapons also received attention. Dela- 
ware, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana,. New Mexico, Nevada and Utah have new laws that add 
weapon use to certain crimes as well as enhance the penalties if firearms or other weapons are 
used in a criminal act. 

Other Sentencing Reforms 

A broad sentencing reform act in New York set 85 percent of sentence rules for violent 
criminals and established determinate, or set, sentences for many offenders. The act also 
revises previous law by creating a supervised parole sentence that includes a stay in a drug 
treatment campus for some second felony offenders. The New York law also created a sen- 
tencing commission to study the effects of the reform act. Ohio als0 passed significant felony 
sentencing reform legislation that follows several years of sentencing commission work. The 
new sentencing framework categorizes felonies into five classes; provides some mandatory 
minimum sentences for repeat, violent offenders; reclassifies drug trafficking and possession 
offenses; and broadens community sanctions for some offenders. The Ohio legislation ad- 
dressed truth in sentencing by eliminating discretionary parole release. Post-release supervi- 
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sion will be optional for some and required for other offenders. Meanwhile, a Louisiana 
measure trumps sentencing guidelines and allows courts to base many sentences on indi- 
vidual risk assessments with an emphasis on imprisonment. 

Sentencing laws that provide alternatives to prison pale this year against the crop of get- 
tough laws. Nonetheless, Alabama beefed up restitution programs, including recovery of 
funds; Maine added community service as a sentence, previously used only as a condition of 
probation; and Connecticut directed its parole board to establish, develop and maintain 
noninstitutional, community-based programs. In Oregon, a new law requires community 

• punishments for offenders sentenced to less than one year, and will include state assistance to 
local governments for jails and alternative sanctions. A special session early next year is 
expected to address state-local implementation. Some alternatives-related laws followed the 
get-tough theme, articulating circumstances in which alternatives are not to be imposed. In 
Illinois, if a person is convicted of coercing another to join a gang, he cannot get probation or 
a conditional discharge sentence. Georgia, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Nevada, North Da- 
kota and Texas prohibit community corrections placements for certain sex offenders. A task 
force is at work in Michigan to recommend how best to use prison alternatives while maintain- 
ing public safety. And a Senate proposal in California, if passed, will provide money to coun- 
ties to develop drug treatment and other prison alternatives for low-level prisoners. Hawaii 
established a drug court this year and will use fines collected for specified drug offenses to 
fund treatment and demand-reduction programs. Massachusetts lawmakers approved an in- 
terim study of establishing drug courts in two counties. 

Death  Penalty 

New York became the second state in many years to implement a death penalty (Kansas 
reinstated capital punishment a year ago). First-degree murder in New York state now will be 
punishable by death or life imprisonment, and the new law expanded first-degree murder to 
include killing certain peace officers; murder preventing testimony at a 
criminal trial; murder during the commission of certain other felonies; I 
contract, multiple, torturous and serial killings; and second conviction 

I of second-degree murder. Many other states added capital crimes or 
expanded aggravating factors for imposition of the death penalty. Ar- 
kansas added murders committed by the knowing discharge of a fire- 
arm from a vehicle as a capital offense, and Delaware added "hate 
crime" murders as an aggravating circumstance. Florida added as an 
aggravating circumstance a capital felony involving aggravated child abuse of a victim under 
age 12; South Dakota added the killing of a child as an aggravating factor in imposing the 
death penalty; and Louisiana added as a capital crime aggravated rape when the victim is 
under age 12. 

Many states added capital crimes 
or expanded the factors that could 
result in imposition of a death 
sentence. 

Colorado addressed sentencing procedure in death penalty cases, establishing that a panel 
of three judges, not a jury, will determine whether to sentence death or life imprisonment. 
Several states addressed the death penalty appeals processes, including Maryland, statutorily 
streamlining the post-conviction process by reducing the number of petitions allowed and by 
shortening some time periods. A Tennessee law requires that in cases where the state has 
given notice of intention to seek the death penalty, the trial and appellate courts will give those 
first priority in docketing. 
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Sentencing Procedure, Post-Conviction 

Ohio set time limits for filing post-conviction relief in death penalty and other cases and 
requires that the original or amended petition state all grounds for relief claimed. Other states 
enacting new laws affecting post-conviction include Arizona, which repealed the require- 
ment that the state Supreme Court review all rulings affecting an appealed final judgment. The 
law requires the dismissal of a convict's appeal if not timely filed with no right to refile and. 
requires "extraordinary circumstances," rather than "good cause," as the standard in allowing 
post-conviction amendments. Alaska, Illinois, Montana, Tennessee and Utah similarly passed 
laws relating to limits on post-conviction review. Nevada addressed inmate civil actions, 
requiring inmates to forfeit good time for frivolous civil suits. Iowa requires inmates to pay 
fees associated with lawsuits and eliminates good conduct credits for malicious, frivolous 
actions. New Hampshire will carry over a proposal relating to frivolous inmate litigation into 
1996. A Minnesota law sets fees for civil actions by inmates and establishes procedures for 
inmate civil claims. 

A 1995 enactment in Nevada eliminates exculpation from a crime or crimes committed 
by reason of insanity and authorizes a plea of guilty, but mentally ill, in a criminal proceeding. 
A West Virginia law provides for commitment and continued court jurisdiction over people 
found not guilty by reason of mental illness, mental retardation or addiction. 

Sex Offenders 

Sex offenders have been the attention of much state legislation this year, including many 
laws that establish registration or alter, usually by expanding, requirements for existing regis- 
tries. Connecticut, Hawaii, Iowa, Maryland, Montana, North Carolina, New Mexico, New 
York and Utah passed laws establishing sex offender registration. California expanded regis- 
tration requirements to include offenders convicted of kidnapping with intent to commit cer- 
tain sex offenses and provided that failure to comply is a felony. Illinois requires all sex 
offenders, not only repeat offenders, to comply with registration. Indiana, Mississippi, Oregon 
and Washington similarly broadened statutory requirements for those who must register as sex 
offenders. Some laws also provide public or community notification when sex offenders are 
released from a correctional facility. Many of these are in the spirit of New Jersey's 1994 
"Megan's Law," the much-publicized notification measure that followed the rape and murder 
of a 7-year-old girl, allegedly by a neighbor who had a history of assaulting young girls. Enact- 
ments in Arizona, Florida, Louisiana, Nevada, North Dakota and Texas provide for such noti- 
fication. Laws in Colorado, Iowa, Maryland, North Carolina and South Dakota allow public 
access to sex offender registries held by local law enforcement agencies. California's and 
New York's access laws established a "900" number that citizens may call for registration 
information. 

At least three states this year, Illinois, Tennessee and Utah, passed laws restricting name 
changes by people who have been convicted and have been required to register as sex offend- 
ers. A Delaware law prohibits convicted child molesters from living or loitering close to 
schools; and a Florida enactment prohibits intentionally luring or enticing, or attempting to 
lure or entice, a child under 6 into a home, other structure or vehicle. 
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Crimes and Victims 

States continue to tinker with stalking laws that proliferated a few years ago, but not usu- 
ally because they were considered unconstitutionally vague. Arizona defined "stalking" as a 
felony. The crime was previously dealt with under aggravated harassment, which also was 
revised in the new law. Hawaii similarly added aggravated harassment by stalking. Missouri 
added stalking language to laws related to domestic abuse and protective orders. And Oregon 
will revoke concealed handgun licenses for persons who violate a protection order. Other 
states fine-tuned stalking laws or increased penalties, including Louisiana, Nevada, Rhode 
Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas. 

A number of states are taking aim at graffiti in 1995. Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, New 
York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia and Washington passed laws creating, clarifying or 
increasing penalties for graffiti or vandalism. Rhode Island now requires people convicted of 
vandalism to perform community service; parents of vandals pay a fine. 

Victims' measures also were plentiful in 1995, and many new laws improved or expanded 
restitution and victim participation in the criminal justice system. A new Louisiana measure 
requires that one member of the board of parole be appointed from a list submitted by a 
victims' group. Another law places a representative of the victims' group on the state's law 
enforcement commission. South Carolina is developing parole hearings held through video, 
including video testimony by crime victims. 

Alabama authorized local restitution recovery divisions. An Arizona law established that 
restitution is a criminal penalty for purposes of federal bankruptcy. And Illinois provided that 
a court can extend the period for making restitution beyond five years if it is in the victim's 
interest. An Indiana law broadens the description of assets of a criminal from which victims 
may receive civil damages. Washington authorized enforcement of court-ordered restitution 
as a civil judgment. Nevada similarly authorized assignment of wages for restitution as a 
condition of probation or parole. Texas passed several victims' measures this year, including 
ones providing for victim participation and notification, liens against property of a criminal 
and creation of a Crime Victims' Institute. 

A Florida law creates penalties for abuse or neglect of an elderly person and also revised 
the state's statute on "exploitation" with regard to an elderly person's funds, assets and prop- 
erty, including penalties. An Oregon enactment creates a civil cause of action for physical or 
fiduciary abuse of an elderly person and specifies the remedies available. 

Crime prevention measures in 1995 have included ones related to customer safety at 
automated teller machines in Louisiana, New Jersey and Texas. Similarly, a new law in Mis- 
souri requires improved security at convenience stores. 

Offender  Pays 

Enactments ensuring that crime does not pay, but the offender does, are seen in measures 
authorizing certain types of offender fees. An Arizona law allows county jails to charge in- 
mates up to a $3 fee for certain health services and in another law requires a "utility fee" for 
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prisoners who have certain electrical appliances. Minnesota lawmakers authorized inmate 
"co-payments" for medical services and deductions from inmate accounts for room and board 
and victim reparations. South Dakota and Tennessee also passed laws regarding jail offender 
fees and New York's sentencing reform act allows for collection of fees to help defray the cost 
of incarceration from compensation paid to prisoners for work performed. The Iowa law that 
addresses inmate lawsuits also provides that cities and the state may collect from an inmate's 
winning lawsuit for incarceration costs. 

Other New Laws 

Prison privatization received attention in state legislatures this year. Connecticut passed 
enabling legislation that authorizes the commissioner of corrections to improve the operation 
of the state's correctional facilities by entering into contracts with government or private ven- 
dors for prison management. Oregon authorized contracts with public or private entities for 
correctional facilities. New Mexico legislation provided for expanding use of private con- 
tracts for correctional facilities, and Florida similarly provided for expanding private correc- 
tional contracts for bed space. Arizona passed a law clarifying requirements for private prison 
contracts, which includes addressing liability and responsibilities. 

Also related to corrections management, Florida eliminated "emergency release" proce- 
dures in law this year that also changes "lawful capacity" and emergency powers of the gov- 
ernor to release inmates due to overcrowding. Iowa passed legislation requiring hard labor for 
all able inmates, including development of chain gangs. 
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Sentencing EnactmenLs--"Truth," "Three Strikes," Others 

Sentence 

Arkansas S 820 
Certain offenders must serve 70% of sentence. 

Cr imes/Offenders Affected 

Those convicted of first-degree murder, kidnap- 
ping, aggravated robbery, rape and causing a 
catastrophe. 

Arkansas S 123 
"Three strike"-type measure requiring habitual 
offenders convicted of two violent crimes serve 
mandatory sentences or life; three-time habitual 
offenders convicted of certain violent crimes 
serve mandatory sentence or life. 

Two strike applies to serious felonies involving 
violence: first- or second-degree murder, some 
acts of kidnapping, aggravated robbery, rape, 
some terrorist acts, causing catastrophe. Three 
strike applies to broader list including those 
named above and first-degree battery, unlawful 
discharge of a firearm from a vehicle, some 
criminal use of pi'ohibited weapons, a felony 
attempt or conspiracy, first-degree sexual abuse. 

Colorado S 54 
Provides that a three-judge panel, not a jury, 
will determine whether to sentence a defendant 
to death or to life imprisonment. Death 
decision must be unanimous. 

Connecticut S 927 
Requires certain offenders serve at least 85% of 
the sentence imposed and directs the parole 
board to adopt corresponding regulations that 
include guidelines and procedures for classify- 
ing people as violent offenders not limited to the 
elements of the offense or offenses for which 
they are convicted. 

Applies to offenders eligible for parole where 
the underlying facts and circumstances involve 
use, attempted or threatened use of force against 
another person. (Previous law makes a capital 
felony, murder, or any offense committed with a 
firearm at or near school ineligible for parole.) 

Florida H 687 
"Stop Turning Out Prisoners Act" requires 
offenders to serve a minimum of 85% of the 
sentence imposed, with gain time limited 
accordingly. State prisoners sentenced to life 
imprisonment, including for capital felonies, 
will be incarcerated for the rest of their natural 
lives. 

All prison sentence offenses are affected. 

Florida S 168 
"Officer Evenyn Gort and All Fallen Officers 
Career Criminal Act" provides three strikes-type 
penalties and includes 85% requirement for 
some. "Habitual felony offenders" have had 2 
or more felonies and get terms from life to not 
exceeding 10 years; ~habitual violent felony 
offenders" have had 1 or more previous violent 
crime convictions and get from life, with no 
release eligibility for 10 years, to 10-year 
sentences with no release eligibility for 5 years; 
*violent career criminals" have been convicted 
as an adult 3 or more times for violent crimes 

"Habitual felony offender" has previously been 
convicted of 2 or more felonies. "Habitual 
violent felony offender" has had 1 or more 
previous felony convictions for any of a dozen 
crimes including arson, robbery, aggravated 
child abuse, aggravated assault, murder, 
aggravated stalking. "Violent career criminal" 
has been convicted as an adult 3 or more times 
of forcible felony, aggravated stalking, aggra- 
vated child abuse, indecent conduct, felony 
involving firearm, and has been incarcerated in 
state or federal prison. Convictions include 
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Sentence 

and get from life, with no release eligibility, to 
mandatory minimum of 10 years. "Violent 
career criminal," established in a separate 
proceeding, "gain time" limited to require 85% 
of sentence served. Courts must give written 
reasonsfor not imposing statutory sentences, 
addressing protection of the public. Law also 
provides guidance for career criminal apprehen- 
sion and prosecution. 

Florida S 172 
Makes revisions to sentencing guidelines known 
as "Safe Streets Initiative" to emphasize incar- 
ceration of violent offenders and violent and 
nonviolent offenders who repeatedly commit 
criminal offenses. Adds points for certain repeat 
grand theft auto, changes dollar amounts and 
points for theft, enhances certain accessory 
offenses, creates life sentences for certain drug 
trafficking offenses. 

Illinois S 187 
Limits good conduct credits to require offenders 
serve at least 85% of sentence imposed. Also 
creates Illinois Truth-in-Sentencing Commission, 
charged with facilitating and monitoring 
implementation of 85% of sentence measure. 

Indiana H 1004 
Lengthens sentences for certain crimes: murder 
to 55 years (death or life without parole); Class 
A felonies raised to fixed 30 years. Also 
enhances possible penalties for people dealing 
in controlled substances and using or possessing 
certain firearms. 

Louisiana H 146 
Requires certain offenders serve at least 85% of 
the sentence imposed before being eligible for 
parole. Life sentences must be commuted to 
fixed term of years to be eligible for parole 
consideration. 

Louisiana S 1418 
Provides set sentences that must be served, 
without benefit of probation, parole or suspen- 
sion of sentence and with good conduct 
limitations. 

Crimes/Offenders Affected 

those within 5 years of new felony or within 5 
years of release from prison or parole. 

85% applies broadly to serious, violent crimes. 
Offenders imprisoned for first-degree murder 
receive no good conduct credit and will serve 
100% of sentence. 

Applies broadly to crimes of violence. 

Rape, 25 years; sexual battery, 10 years; 
aggravated sexual battery, 15 years. 
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Sentence 

Louisiana H 2410 
Three strikes-type provision requires offender 
convicted of third felony be sentenced to life 
under certain circumstances or to life without 
parole for third or fourth felony conviction 
under certain circumstances. 

Maine S 203 
Allows consideration of criminal histories, when 
determining sentences in excess of 20 years of 
imprisonment for Class A crimes. 

Maine S 201 
Reduces statutory meritorious good time to 
ensure that the term of imprisonment imposed 
closely approximates that which will be served. 

Mississippi S 2175 
Earned-lime credits are limited to require that 
inmates serve at least 85% of prison term. 
Having served 85% and once released, inmates 
are placed under earned-release supervision 
until expiration of the full term. Inmates serving 
life sentences, except those imprisoned for life 
for capital murder, may petition for conditional 
release after age 65 and at least 15 years, served. 
The law also establishes a reconstituted state 
parole board, and on luly 1, 2000, transfers 
those duties, responsibilities to the Department 
of Corrections, eliminating the parole board, as 
such. 

Montana H 356 
Simplifies and calls for phasing out all good 
time by 1997, pending recommendations of a 
sentencing commission, established in the 
legislation. Meanwhile, actual time served not 
substantially affected. 

Crimes/Offenders Affected 

Life sentence applies to third felony or adjudica- 
tion of delinquent for felony-grade violation of 
~,iol~nt crime or controlled substances laws. If 
the third felony or either of the 2 prior felonies 
is a crime of violence, a controlled substances 
offense punishable by imprisonment more than 
5 years or any other crime punishable by 
imprisonment for more than 12 years, the 
offender gets life without parole. "Crime of 
violence" is any 1 of 30 violent offenses, 
ranging from first-degree murder to purse 
snatching. 

Class A crimes include felony murder, man- 
slaughter, kidnapping, arson, causing catastro- 
phe, some sex crimes. Attempted murder added 
in 1995 as a Class A crime in Malne by H 152. 

All crimes, prisoners. 

All prison inmates affected. 

Applies to all prison inmates. 
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Sentence 

Montana S 66 
Three strikes-type law, that people convicted of 
2 specified violent offenses and 3 of other 
specified violent offenses (death penalty 
excepted) must be sentenced to life without 
possibility ~Df parole or sentence credits, served 
in a prison, not a work release center, boot 
camp or nonsecure facility. 

Nevada A 317 
Three strikes-type measure, requiring habitually 
violent felon with 2 previous violent felonies be 
sentenced to life without possibility of parole, 
life with possibility of parole after minimum of 
10 years served or to 25-year term with parole 
eligibility after .10 years. 

New Jersey A 318 
"Persistent Offenders Accountability Act" is 
three strikes-type of law, that people convicted 
of the third of certain offenses shall be sen- 
tenced to life imprisonment without possibility 
of parole. Other extended terms--30 years to 
life, 20 years to life, 5 to 10 years, and 3 to 5 
years--apply to conviction of other specified 
offenses. 

Crimes/Offenders Affected 

Two strike applies to second conviction for 
deliberate homicide, aggravated kidnapping, 
certain sex crimes including sexual abuse of a 
child, ritual abuse of a minor. Three strike life 
without parole applies to mitigated deliberate 
homicide, aggravated assault, kidnapping, 
robbery, arson or to a conviction for any of the 
second list of offenses with 2 previous convic- 
tions for any of the first list of offenses. Previous 
offenses apply if less than 5 years has elapsed 
since previous offense or release from prison. 

Applies to many violent felonies, including 
indicates that there are other felonies not listed, 
murder, robbery, kidnapping, aiding or abetting 
kidnapping, battery, abuse of children, arson, 
home invasion, others. 

Third strike life without parole applies to 
criminal homicide, robbery, carjacking. 
Extended term 30 years to life for third convic- 
tion with 1 or more prior first-degree or aggra- 
vated crime convictions; terms of 20 years to life 
if 2 or more previous convictions for crimes just 
named or second-degree crime; term of 10 to 
20 years for third conviction for second-degree 
crime; and 5 to 10 years or 3 to 5 years for third 
of combinations of lesser crimes. 

New York S 2950 
Reinstates death penalty in New York. Estab- 
lishes the sentences of death or life imprison- 
ment without parole for first-degree murder. 
Establishes sentencing procedure in capital 
cases. 

New York S 5281 
Sentencing Reform Act includes truth, 85%-type 
provisions and habitual offender measures. 
Also changes previous law for second felony 
offenders. Establishes determinate sentences 
under which offenders are not eligible for 
discretionary release and may not be paroled 
prior to serving six-sevenths of the set term. 
Determinate sentences are imposed on violent 
felony offenders with a prior felony conviction. 
Certain second, nonviolent felony offenders 
may be sentenced to parole terms and stay at a 
drug treatment campus. Also creates commis- 
sion to study the effects of the Sentencing 
Reform Act. 

Expands provisions of first-degree murder to 
include killing certain peace officers, to prevent 
testimony at criminal trial, during commission of 
certain felonies, contract killings, multiple 
killings, second conviction of s.econd-clegree 
murder, torturous and serial killings. 

The six-sevenths of sentence determinate 
sentences apply to Class B violent felony 
offenders who must serve 8 to 25 years; Class C 
violent felony offenders who are to serve 5 to 15 
years; Class D violent felony offenders who 
must serve 3 to 7 years; and Class E violent 
felony offenses, which carry set sentences of 2 
to 4 years. The parole sentence provisions for 
second nonviolent felony offenders applies to 
specified offenses including, but not limited to, 
criminal mischief, grand larceny, forgery, some 
controlled substance felony offenses. 
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S e n t e n c e  

North Dakota H 1218 
Requires imprisoned, violent offenders must 
serve 85% of sentence. 

North Dakota H 1218 
Provides extended sentences for certain special, 
dangerous and habitual offenders. If conviction 
offense is Class A felony, court may impose up 
to life imprisonment; Class B felony, maximum 
20 years; Class C felony, up to 10 years. 

Ohio S 2 
Establishes new framework for felony sentenc- 
ing, sets principles to guide courts in imposing 
sentences and specifies presumptions for 
imposing prison terms for certain felonies. 
Some mandatory minimum sentences required 
under law, including for repeat violent offenders 
on whom the court must impose a prison term 
from the range authorized for the offense, which 
cannot be reduced by judicial release, earned 
credit or any other provision for release. 
Reclassifies drug trafficking and possession 
offenses. Specifies financial sanctions, residen- 
tial and nonresidential prison alternatives. Sets 
sentencing procedure and sentence appeals. 
Establishes sentence of life imprisonment 
without parole as additional alternative to the 
death penalty in applicable cases. 

Oregon H 3439 
Creates mandatory minimum sentences for 
some crimes. Extends to 25 years the period of 
time that a person sentenced to life imprison- 
ment for aggravated murder must serve before 
parole board considers rehabilitation, release. 

Crimes/Offenders Affected 

Violent offenders include those convicted of 
murder, manslaughter, aggravated assault, 
kidnapping, gross sexual imposition, rol:~)ery, 
burglary or attempts to commit the offenses. 

Habitual offenders have been previously 
convicted of 2 felonies as adults; or convicted 
of offenses that seriously endanger the life of 
another person and the offender has previously 
been convicted of a similar offense; or the 
offender is especially dangerous because he 
used a firearm, dangerous weapon or destruc- 
tive device in the commission of the offense or 
during flight. 

Categorizes felonies as first-, second-, third-, 
fourth- and fifth-degree. Mandatory minimums 
apply for repeat, violent offenders, major drug 
offenders, people who use firearms in commit- 
ting offenses and certain other serious felonies. 
"Repeat violent offender" means one who is 
convicted of and sentenced for committing or 
attempting to commit aggravated murder, 
murder, involuntary manslaughter, first-degree 
felony, first- or second-degree felony in Con- 
trolled Substances Law that resulted in physical 
harm to a person, and who previously has been 
convicted and has served a prison term for any 
one of those crimes, or who was adjudicated 
delinquent for an act that, if committed by an 
adult, would have been one of those felonies. 
Death penalty-eligible cases for which life 
imprisonment without parole may apply when 
offender is guilty of aggravated murder with 1 or 
more aggravating circumstances. 

Includes many violent crimes, including murder, 
attempt or conspiracy to commit murder, 
manslaughter, assault, kidnapping, rape, 
sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration, others. 
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Sentence 
Pennsylvania H 93 
Two and three strike-type habitual offender 
measure, providing that second or subsequent 
offenders convicted of first-degree felony may 
be sentenced to fixed term of not more than 20 
years; second degree will serve fixed term of not 
more than I0 years; and third degree not more 
than 7 years, also fixed. Violent offenders who 
have one previous violent crime conviction and 
upon finding offender is a "high-risk dangerous 
offender," must serve at least 10-year fixed 
sentence; and a third violent offense results in 
serving a 25-year fixed sentence. Requires 
mandatory 5-year sentence enhancement during 
which offender not eligible for parole, proba- 
tion, work release or furlough, for violent crime 
involving use of a firearm, or for violent offenses 
committed on public transportation. 

South Carolina H 3096 
Has ~two strikes" and ~truth" features. Creates, 
defines "no parole offense." Requires that 80% 
of sentence must be served before eligibility for 
work release and 85% for early release, 
discharge or community supervision. "No 
parole offenders, "must serve up to 2 years 
community supervision following prison term. 
People with one or more prior, serious offense 
convictions must be sentenced to life without 
possibility of parole. 

South Dakota S 238 
At sentencing, courts are required to make 
public the first date the offender will be eligible 
for parole in addition to stating the maximum 
time that could be served. 

Tennessee H 1762 
Eliminates release eligibility for persons 
convicted of certain crimes and limits sentence 
credits to require at least 85% of sentence is 
served. 

Tennessee H 1758 
Allows prior juvenile acts that would have been 
adult felonies to be used in seeking enhanced 
sentence for adult conviction. 

Tennessee H 1778 
Expands list of violent felonies that if committed 
by people with prior conviction for certain 
violent felonies, for sentence of life without 
possibility of parole. 

Crimes/Offenders Affected 

"High-risk, violent, dangerous offenders" who 
serve minimum 10- or 2S-year sentences are 
those with convictions for murder; voluntary 
manslaughter; rape; involuntary deviate sexual 
intercourse; robDery; arson; kidnapping, 
aggravated assault in which the offender 
intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes 
serious bodily injury; some burglary offenses; 
conspiracy or attempt to commit those offenses. 
Two strike and three strike violent offender 
provisions apply to convictions within 7 years of 
the instance of the offense, not counting time in 
prison, other detention or probation or parole. 

"No parole offenses" are Class A, B or C felonies 
including many serious, violent crimes punish- 
able by 20 years or more in prison. Life without 
parole sentence applies to "most serious 
offenses," including many serious violent 
felonies, drug trafficking, some bribery, em- 
bezzlement, certain accessory and attempt 
offenses. 

All offenders for whom sentence includes 
imprisonment. 

Applies to 11 violent, often aggravated, crimes 
including murder, rape, rape of a child, kidnap- 
ping, robbery, sexual battery, arson, child abuse. 

Includes many violent felonies. 
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Sentence 
Utah H 46 
With some three strikes features, measure 
provides enhanced penalties for offenders court 
determines to be habitually violent. Second- or 
third-degree felony treated as first degree; 
penalty for first degree remains with no proba- 
lion eligibility. Board of parole is to consider it 
an aggravating factor thal the convicted person 
is a habitual violent offender. 

Virginia S 940 
Amends existing three strikes law to provide that 
person convicted of 3 felony sex offenses is 
ineligible for the old-age release, possibility for 
life sentences. Second-lime sex offenders are 
subject to Class 2 felony penalty. 

Vermont S 51 
Three strikes-type law provides that fourlh 
felony conviction may result in imprisonment 
up to and including life. Third felony crime of 
violence shall have sentence from imprison- 
ment up to and including life, with no probation 
eligibility or suspended sentence, early release 
or until expiration of minimum sentence. 

Crimes/Offenders Affected 

"Habitual violent offender" is person convicted 
of a violent felony who has at least 2 prior 
convictions for any felony over the.previous I0 
years and has been incarcerated, on probation 
or parole, or the subject of an unexecuted 
felony arrest warrant. Many violent crimes 
apply, including criminal homicide, aggravated 
assault, aggravated kidnapping, rapes and other 
sexual assault crimes, sexual exploitation of a 
minor, aggravated burglary, others. 

Felony sex offenses include rape, sexual battery, 
aggravated sexual battery, forcible sodomy, 
attempts. 

About a dozen crimes apply under the violent 
career criminal provisions, including arson 
causing death, assault and robbery with a 
dangerous weapon or causing bodily injury, 
aggravated assault, murder, manslaughter, 
several sexual assault crimes, first-degree 
aggravated domestic assault. 

NC_SL Stale Legislative Report 13 



Sex Offender Registration and Notification Enactments 

Sex Offender  Registration - N e w  Law 

Connecticut S 872 
Requires sexual offenders to register with the 
local police department for 5 ryears beyond the 
end of their sentences. 

Hawaii S 443 
Requires adult sex offenders to register with the 
local law enforcement agency within 3 working 
days after arrival in a county where the offender 
plans to reside for more than 1 month. 

Iowa S 93 
Requires convicted'sex offenders to register 
within 10 days of release, establishing residence 
in the state or changing residence. 

Maryland S 79 
Requires adult child sex offenders to register 
with the local law enforcement agency within 7 
days of release, establishing residence in the 
state or changing residence. 

North Carolina S 53 
Requires convicted sex offenders to register for 
10 years in the county where they plan to 
reside. Applies to persons released from prison 
or convicted after Jan. 1, 1996. 

New Mexico S 481 
Enacts the Sex Offender Registration Act; 
requires sex offenders to register; authorizes 
exchange of registration information. 

New York A 1059C/S 11 
Enacts the ~Sex Offender Registration Act." 
Requires any sex offender to register with the 
Division of Criminal Justice Services within 10 
days to verify the offender's intended residence 
or prior to any change of address. 

Utah H 230 
Requires sex offenders to provide the Depart- 
ment of Corrections with all names and aliases 
used; prohibits sex offenders from changing 
their names while under the continuing 
jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections. 

Sex Of fender  Registration Revisions 

California A 173 
Requires offenders convicted of specified 
kidnapping offenses involving intent to commit 
certain sex offenses to register under specified 
provisions; provides that willful failure by those 
offenders to comply with these registration 
requirements is a felony. 

Delaware S 146 
Prohibits sexual offenders from loitering/residing 
on or within 500 feet of any school property. 

Illinois H 204 
Changes the Child Sex Offender Registration to 
the Sex Offender Registration Act. Effective Jan. 
1, 1996, applies to first-time and repeat sex 
offenders; applies to anyone found to be a 
sexually dangerous person under Illinois law or 
a similar state or federal law. 

Indiana S 363 
Changes the Sex Offender Registration Law. 
Redefines an "offender" as a person convicted 
of a sex offense; specifies that an offender's duty 
to register terminates 10 years after the date he 
is released from prison or placed on parole or 
probation;" and adds sexual misconduct with a 
minor to the list of offenses for which an 
offender must register. 

LouisianaS 1263 
Requires sex offenders living in parishes over 
490,000 population to register with the police 
department instead of the sheriff. 

Mississippi S 2163 
Includes additional classes of offenders who 
must register under the Sex Offender Registra- 
tion Law. Imposes continuing re-registration 
requirements. 

Montana H 157 
Allows certain .sex offenders to be sentenced to 
the Department of Corrections and Human 
Services for life and p. laced in an appropriate 
correctional institution or program. Requires 
those persons to register as sex offenders for life 
unless a court finds that public protection no 
longer demands registration. 
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Sex Offender Registration Revisions 
Montana H 214 
Establishes a bill for "an act generally revising 
the laws relating to registration of sexual 
offenders." 

Oklahoma H 1207 
Provides for the registration of sex offenders 
with local law enforcement authority and the 
release of certain information. 

Oregon H 3345 
Modifies Sex Offender Registration Law. 
Expands number of people required to register. 
Allows disclosure of certain information about 
registered sex offenders. Prohibits expunction 
of records of adults and juveniles who have 
committed sex crimes. 

Washington S 5326 
Revises provisions for registration of sex 
offenders. 
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Sex Offender Not i f icat ion to Officials or 
Public Access to Registry 

California Penal Code 290.4 
Establishes a "900" number that the public may 
call to inquire whether a certain person is listed 
in the registry. 

Colorado H 1202 
Allows public access to information in the sex 
offender registry held by a local law enforce- 
ment agency. Authorizes the local law enforce- 
ment agency to release basic identification and 
criminal history information about any regis- 
tered sex offender in the agency's jurisdiction to 
anyone within that jurisdiction. 

Hawaii S 443 
Requires the Department of Public Safety or the 
Hawaii Paroling Authority to provide written 
notice to the prosecutor of the anticipated 
release from a state correctional facility of a 
person/juvenile convicted of sexual assault in 
any degree or an attempt to commit such 
offense; establishes a Notification Advisory 
Commission in the attorney general's office. 

Iowa S 93 
Allows public access to sex offender registration 
information when specific information is 
provided about both the person requesting the 
information and the registrant, along with the 
reason for requesting the information or if it is 
necessary to protect the public. 

Louisiana H 1474 
Requires notice to superintendents of local 
parks, playgrounds and recreation districts of 
where a sex offender will reside. 

Louisiana S 1263 
Requires notification of listed parties as a 
condition of probation for those convicted of 
the perpetration or attempted perpetration of 
listed sex offenses. 

Maryland S 79 
Requires certain supervising authorities to send 
written notice of the release or escape of a child 
sexual offender to the local law enforcement 
agency in the county where the offender will 
reside. Any person may request a copy of the 
registration by providing a name, address and 
reason for requesting the information. 

Sex Offender Community Not i f icat ion 

'Arizona S 1280 
Allows community notification of sex offenders 
intended residence prior to release. 

Florida S 56 
Requires a sheriff or police chief to notify the 
community of the presence of a sexual predator 
if, after a hearing, the court determines that the 
predator poses a threat to the public. 

Louisiana S 292 
Requires as a condition of probation that 
community notice be given for each change of 
address made by a convicted sex offender. 

Nevada S 192 
Requires community notification of the release 
of sex offenders. Three levels of notification 
established so that specific persons will be 
notified depending on the offender's risk of 
recidivism. 

North Dakota H 1152 
Authorizes law enforcement to notify a commu- 
nity of a sex offender's presence if the agency 
determines the offender poses a public risk and 
notification is "necessary for public protection." 

Texas S 267 
Authorizes the local law enforcement authority 
to publish a notice in thecounty in which a 
released sex offender will reside, if the victim is 
under age 17 and the offender was not adjudi- 
cated of delinquent conduct. Also requires the 
superintendent of public schools of the affected 
districts to be notified. 
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Sex Offender  Not i f icat ion to Off icials or 
Public Access to Registry 

Mississippi S 2163 
Allows law enforcement agencies to release 
relevant and necessary registry information to 
the public. 

New York S 11B 
Establishes and maintains a "900" number for 
public access to registry information. 

North Carolina S 53 
A person must know the offender's name to 
access the registry. Organizations that work 
with the elderly, disabled or with children can 
obtain a copy of the registration information. 
The offender's picture will not be given to 
anyone. 

South Dakota S 42 
Requires that registration records kept by local 
law enforcement are public records. 
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